Monkey Banana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very good. I'm lazy, so I used a 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves so I wouldn't have to strain it. My kids had some warm with Peanut Butter and Co's Bees Knees peanut butter for lunch and flipped for it. I liked that this was easy enough that I didn't have to babysit it, I just had my son help me throw everything together with the pan and he was in charge of making sure it didn't burn. Nice way to use up ripe bananas. Next time, I might add a mixture of cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg. EDITED: You seriously can get by with 1/4 of the sugar called for. It really just depends on how ripe your bananas are and how strong your sweet tooth is. Now that I've made this a couple times, I like to add 1/2 c. chopped walnuts after the boiling step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very, very good!! I did take the advice of previous reviews and used less sugar. I used very ripe bananas (about 6), 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 tsp ground clove, 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. The results are fabulous! Both my girls, ages 3 & 6, absolutely LOVE this! Will definitely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My family loves this! I used ground cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg and bottled lemon juice. It's wonderful on a peanut butter sandwich, and my husband will even grab a spoonfull of it here and there. We plan to make a bunch of it and give away as Christmas gifts this year. My only question is how long the jam lasts before it gets to be too old. Does anyone know? This truly is one yummy recipe we'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
USE GROUND CLOVES, NOT WHOLE!!!! I just wasted all the ingredients and am the proud owner of three half pints of banana spiced soup because it's impossible to get the cloves out without also getting all the banana pulp after it cooks down. I really hate to rate it so low because it has good flavor but it's basically a ruined recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great way to use up really ripe bananas. I added cinnamon sticks, and it came out great. Perfect for toast, English muffins, pancakes, and of course, the good old peanut butter and jelly sandwich! Might be a smart idea to put cloves and cinnamon sticks in cheesecloth or even a tea ball. Straining it was easier said than done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
good, tasty. I took the advise of serveral raters and used 1/2 the sugar and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. My yield with the changes was 5 1/2 pt jars I found on another site to water bath 1/2 pint jars for 7 mins and it will keep for one year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a cool way to use up ripe bananas! Tastes really good, but it could definitely use a bit less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I never knew you could make jam out of bananas.i used ground cloves. I also added a little cocoa powder to the second Half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Lovely - just the thing for using up a glut of bananas. I took the advice of other reviewers and only used 1.5 cups of sugar and found this was just right. I also used ground cloves (no straining) and a hint of vanilla . I simmered for only 30 minutes as the jam had thickened. I would like to know how long this jam keeps - has anyone found out? I can see me making more of this for Christmas gifts, I can also see me making a cheat's banana ice cream by adding it to store bought vanilla ice cream.... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wickedwoman
Home Town: Wicklow, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Perpignan, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Who knew there was such a thing as banana jam?? Ok so I used a little under 3.5 cups (13 small sized bananas). I cut the cloves WAY down because cloves can be very over powering. I used 1tsp cloves, 1tsp cinnamon, and 1/2tsp nutmeg. I cut the sugar to 1 cup total. Followed the boiling and mixing directions and then I popped this into my crockpot on low for 6 hours. It made a total of 2 pints for me. Lowering the cloves and adding the other spices worked for me. You still get the banana-y goodness with a hint of spice undertone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States