Monica's Never Fail Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This bread did not rise. It was a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Despite letting dough rise over 2 1/2 hrs, it didn't double. Couldn't believe it then said add more flour then cut and let it rise TWO MORE HOURS! What a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Like a few others said, I missed adding the sugar until it was too late (though if you look carefully, the recipe does say to add it to the dry ingredients). When it didn't rise, I balled them up like a drop biscuit and baked them as instructed, and they made an ok biscuit. It was pretty dense, but better than throwing it away. I did think it was rather sweet, and I probably would have been better off just not adding the sugar at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This recipe does not tell you when to add the sugar? I am a novice at making bread so I tried this recipe. About half way through I realized this recipe does not tell you when to add the sugar. I decided to add it at a point that I thought would be ok, however I guess it wasn't the right time to add it. Therefore the bread did not rise and I ended up throwing away the whole batch. As I hate wasting food this made me pretty upset. Whoever submitted this I would highly recommend rewriting the recipe with more clear instructions for beginners as the title of the recipe sort of makes it seem like this is a good recipe for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I thought these rolls were good - a little bland. I'm new to yeast breads, so I did appreciate the ease of the recipe - and it will be easy enough to flavor it up a little next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
one word: FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3RDTIMESACHARM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner for 15 people because it sounded so easy and "no fail".. Well, after step 1, the dough rised but did not double. I was rushed for time so I continued on to step 3. The rolls did not rise at all. even after 4 hrs. in a warm oven. My husband saved the day by quickly making biscuits from a mix. I put the rolls in the refrigerator and tried again the next day. I let them sit for a whole afternoon and part of the evening in a warm environment but to no avail. They never raised! I baked them anyway and ended up with what looked like cookies.. I was so dissapointed because of the waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This recipe is really good, but needs some corrections. Step 2 should say to pour milk and SHORTENING into bowl, not milk and margarine. Also, there is no mention of when to add the sugar. I added 2 Tbsp with yeast and the remaining 1/2 cup with the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
These were a major hit Thanksgiving, my family wants them next year. They are so easy and I love that you can make them ahead and freeze. I do alot of cooking ahead when I'm expecting a crowd and these have been added to my tried and true stand-bys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This is a great recipe! Mixing it up is quick, and you just walk away and let it rise. There is NO NEED TO KNEED! It's perfect! My 11 year old and I put these in the oven and everyone said "Oooo" and "Ahhhh" as we tried them. I even tried rolling the dough into balls and placed two side-by-side in a muffin pan... and they baked up well. Enjoy! Email this to a friend! Thanks Monica! Oh, and try cutting Pollish sausage into 3rds, and wrapping this dough around them, and making "pigs-in-a-blanket". Yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States