Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Upon reading all the reviews i made 2 seperate batches of this recipe. One for my husband and I and then 1 for my children. I didnt use the hot oil and only 1 tsp of crushed red peppers for my children's recipe and for the adults i made my own hot chili oil by adding 4 tsp crushed peppers to the 3 Tbsp sesame oil, i only added 1 additional tsp of the peppers later. Everyone at the table loved it! The older kids even liked a few pieces of the adults. I dont know that it tasted like Mongolian beef, but this was awesome! I served over brown rice and a small bowl of miso soup. If you are spicy sensitive substitute the hot chili oil for sesame oil, but if you like spicy then this is a perfect recipe for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this recipe according to the directions. It was really too hot for me. I would recommend cutting back on the hot chili oil down to just one tablespoon, instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Skirt steak works better here than flank if you can get it. Follow the "cooks note" about partially freezing before cutting and be sure to cut against the grain. Always my favorite dish while having the priviledge to work for 2 years in a chinese restraunt. This is as close as it gets..maybe better. It's meant to be hot..manage the heat with the chile/seasame oil, we use whole dried chile peppers on "step two" of the recipe and you can simply crush red peps and put them in seasame oil to make your own hot oil. this makes it easier to find your prefered heat level for next time. We did not use char but what a perfect place for it. Topped with maifun rice sticks and of course Jasman rice on the side. Peanut oil is also a key ingredient. Flash cook the meat very hot dont over do it. Thanks for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was a surprisingly good recipe. I followed the recipe exactly because I had never made anything Mongolian before and wanted to make sure to get it right. I'm glad I didn't change anything because it came out delicious! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
O M G! That Was The Best Ever. I Made This For My Whole Family, And My Husband Who Is Picky About His Flavors Of Food And Freshness, Loved It so Much. I Did Double Up On The Sauce Though To Make It A Little Extra Goopy. Fabulous Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Clark
Photo by PensacolaBeachDad
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This recipe was easy to make, however it did not taste "Mongolian". This tasted more like a hot and spicy beef dish. I will keep searching if anyone has any ideas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
My husband and I didn't like this much. It had kind of a sour taste, and the sauce was not nearly as spicy as I would expect with that much chili oil and red pepper flakes. Our 8 year old daughter said she liked it though. Our search continues for a good mongolian beef recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was excellent. A bit hot for the hubby, so next time not as much red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was terrible. Way too spicy for us. One bite had us running for bread & water to cool our mouthes. Didn't taste anything like the Mongolian beef I've eaten before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was a very nice meal served over white rice. Not as good as our local Chinese resurant, but very good. My family is looking forward to having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States