Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This recipe was very easy and really tasty. Only complaint is that it has a lot of soy so pretty salty. I'm going to try it with a low-sodium next time to see if flavor still the same. A keeper for sure. I've tried several other recipes and this really has been the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dexter, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Loved it! Served it over steamed rice and everyone thought it was delicious. Didn't change a thing, followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was an incredibly flavorful recipe that used ingredients I already had on hand. I found a flank steak from last July hiding in the back of my freezer, and while perfectly safe to eat, it was a bit freezer burned and I feared it would be tough if we grilled it, so I decided to try it in this recipe. We had a piece of ginger root left from a previous meal, as well as some green onions. Per previous reviewers suggestions I cut down the brown sugar (to 1/4 cup) and added a couple of tablespoons of rice wine vinegar to the sauce as well a some corn starch at the very end to thicken things up. I only used 1/4 of vegetable oil and it came out just fine, nice a crispy. I use Bragg's Aminos instead of soy sauce and did so here as well. This was a terrific recipe and easier to prepare than it looked -- this will likely become a go-to beef meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, except added broccoli. Very very good! I think there is a lot more sauce than is needed though. Next time I'm going to marinate the meat overnight with some of the sauce, then saute it with just a little bit of oil then add the rest of the sauce later. I also think it would be good with some regular onion or more green onions as well as more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Good sweet stir-fry sauce; however, this doesn't match the Mongolian Beef recipe I'm trying to duplicate. Next time I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/3 or 1/2 cup, as it was a little too sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
First time I've tried to cook this dish. Used flat iron steak rather than flank. Came out tender and delicious. Even my picky kids loved it (but not the onions)! Only downside was it took me a while to pre-cook the beef strips, but the dish was well worth it. Enjoyed every bite. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Wow! Good stuff, cut back slightly on the sugar and it is better than any we have ever had. It will be a repeat treat. Thank you vkarlson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
If this could be 8 more stars I would give this recipe double that! This is delicious. My husband has actually requested this as often as I want to make it for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I was worried about making this however I followed recipe exactly and it was delicious. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I thought this was very good. A few simple changes, I fried the beef in 3 batches, in only 2 tbsp of oil each time. I might cut the sauce in half, as there was quite a bit of sauce. I also added mushrooms which went well with the sauce? Served with brown rice and steamed sugar snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 121-130 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States