Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Using low-sodium soy sauce and reducing the brown sugar to 1/4, there wasn't the "too salty" and "too sweet" problems that others mentioned. I added broccoli and arsenic-free Jasmine rice. This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I don't normally review stuff, but I have to say that this basic recipe was really fun. I cut it all in half, but to the sauce, I added a dash of cayenne, some white pepper, and some onion powder. You have to adjust the brown sugar to your taste, but the sauce is just much better after you cook it with the meat and veggies. Anyway, I just used a large yellow onion, added some thinly sliced carrots, and thawed frozen peas, and this was absolutely luscious....just like from a Chinese restaurant. Thanks so much for a great contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notmuchofacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Albin, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
as soon as i started the sauce, i knew this was gonna be delicious..flank steak at my store is labeled London Broil, so i had to figure that out. i used low sodium soy sauce because my husband and i both have high blood pressure..it was just slightly sweet, but neither of us minded it. i might cut the sugar back a little next time. it was easy to make, and this recipe will be a stand by at my house from now on..although i will have to double the recipe to satisfy my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Lorenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Fantastic! I too cut down on the sugar. Used about half the amount, and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayman.30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
will use less sugar and brown rice. added water chestnuts cuz we love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre C. Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Fantastic! Beast homemade chinese food i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This would be 5 star after just a couple of adjustments. I used a little extra garlic, less sugar than called for, added in a couple of tablespoons of rice wine vinegar and a couple of tablespoons of asian chili garlic paste to give it some kick. My sauce did not thicken up despite extra boiling so I had to add a decent amount of cornstarch to get that nice thick glaze I wanted. In the end though, it was a phenomenal dish and everyone absolutely loved it. I served it over jasmine rice along side an asian green salad with miso ginger dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I had given up making stir-fry at home because it always turned out ho-hum. Then I found this recipe and I've been converted. It's delicious! I think the secret is coating the beef with cornstarch (and maybe also the 10 minutes absorption time?). Changes I've made: I always steam broccoli and sliced carrots for 10 minutes at the beginning and set aside, then add them (along with baby corn and the cut up green onions) to the skillet to stir-fry for a few minutes before returning the beef slices to the skillet. Tips: It's fine to cook all the beef slices at once (and I use 2 lbs. of beef!). Also, when I remove the beef from the oil I put it in a bowl rather than on paper towels. I used paper towels the first time and it was a nuisance getting all of the paper towel bits off the meat. My teenage son loves this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Very good flavor. Only change would be to back off sugar and add vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Excellent! I reduced the soy a little and compensated with water. I also used top round, and not flank steak, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States