Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa Annette
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this recipe pretty much as written, as far as amounts go. I used some different variations on a couple of items. I used reduced-sodium soy sauce, I'm glad I did. I used a natural form of sugar called sucanat instead of brown sugar and used London Broil steak instead of flank steak. I tripled the recipe and it took me three times as long to make too. :-) My family loved it though. One commented that it tasted a lot like a Pei Wei dish. That's compliment enough I think. If I were to change anything next time, I might tenderize my meat beforehand; although it was mostly quite tender. If I made this for company, I think I could make the sauce and fry the meat earlier in the day and keep in the fridge. Then it wouldn't take long to complete the final steps of chopping the onions and mixing it all together in the end. This way I could clean up the big frying mess on the stove ahead of time. All in all, it was a big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I've just about stopped stir-frying meats for Chinese stir-fry. For this recipe, I braised a big chuck roast for three hours at 200F, then trimmed and broke up the meat. Then I added about 1 pound of the cooked, trimmed meat to the sauce from step 1. So I don't have to stir-fry the beef, and the braised beef is much more tender than the stir-fried. I like it a lot better, and it has to be more healthy. For chicken stir-fry, I use roast chicken. Any excess meat can be frozen. I also added 6 mushrooms, sliced and stir-fried with garlic and ginger. The mushrooms are really good in this dish. And then the green onions. Stir it all up in the wok with the sauce from step 1, and serve with brown rice. The sauce (step 1): I agree with jeff97 that the sauce is too sweet. I'm going to try his method of adding a little sugar at a time. I tried it with hoisin sauce, but I thought it was too sweet. If you like it spicy, try stir-frying four dry red peppers along with the garlic and ginger in step 1. This adds a lot of flavor without making it unbearably hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just made this with Venison. It was delicious! Didn't have fresh ginger so I used 1/4 tsp of ground ginger and also, used sesame oil. Served it with basmati rice. I thought it was a bit too sweet, next time I'll cut down on the sugar but besides that.... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyinWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suquamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is my third try to get this without it being published before I finish. Since the amount of brown sugar seemed excessive, I used only two tablespoons. I also used less expensive thin slice steak and tenderized it. I worked with the meat first because the sauce is quick. I kept the sauce hot while the meat finished cooking and placed the meat into the sauce rather than discarding the oil, returning the meat to that pan, and then adding the sauce, I added the meat directly to the sauce, raised the heat to medium-high, added the green onions, and let it cook until the sauce thicken. This works much more easily than trying to get rid if extremely hot oil and is safer. It's delicious and one of our favorite meals over steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I added crushed red pepper to the ginger/garlic when sauteing for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Extremely good. Especially if you only use half the amount of brown sugar and soy sauce. It makes the dish a bit healthier and not nearly as overwhelmingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
A local restaurant has the best Mongolian beef I have ever had and I have tried a lot! This recipe is so close to it, it's amazing! My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Changed a bit to suit my taste: For the sauce I used 1Tbs olive oil 1 Tbs ginger garlic paste 1/3 cup soy sauce 2/3 cup water 2 Tbps rice vinegar 1/4 cup brown sugar For meat (I shallow pan fired it) I used 1 1/2 lbs sirloin sliced corn starch For veg I used 2/3 large sweet onion (separately sauted)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States