Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Delicious!! But way too sweet. What I did the second time was to simply add tablespoons of the brown sugar until I found the right balance between the sweet and salty. Two tablespoons were enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I'd give it more stars if I could. I diced the beef into 1/2 inch pieces and added frozen broccoli, then simmerred it for about 10 minutes at the end. It was better than the finest Chinese/Mongolian restaurant in town. My 2 yr old hates veggies and she gobbled this dish up and cleaned the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I thought this was amazing! I added a heaped tablespoon of hoisin sauce, worked wonderfully...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Ive tried this a lot of times with my family with fresh ginger and powdered ginger with green onions and white onions what I have found is this tastes really good one thing I have changed is that I always double or triple the meat that is the only thing i change some people have complained that it is to salty or sweet I suggest do not make changes to the sauce just add more meat and some more veggies if you want veggies that is also do not cut the meat to thin and some of you might try to tenderize the meat before hand this may solve your problems with the tough meat if anything cut the sauce in half for 1 pd of meat that should help and keep the sauce nice and thick just be sure to let it set for a few minute before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
WOW!! this was amazing! Just like the P.F.Changs! I did exactly as the recipe stated..will be making again..and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness {Doces Americano}

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was excellent, but make sure you have a splash cover for your pan and if u have thin sliced steak like I did, only fry the meat for about 10secs and turn. Since you saute with the sauce later, it fully cooks, but won't turn into beef jerky. Also, I added a Tbsp of cornstarch at the end to thicken the sauce. This is the tastiest Mongolian Beef I've ever eaten, and I used to love P.F. Chang's version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Easy to make and flavorful. I do suggest putting the beef in the starch before you saute the galic/ginger to better manage time. Also, was a bit salty, maybe use low sodium soy sauce or cut a bit of soy and replace with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My family loved this recipe, but it may have helped that the quality of the meat we got was excellent. I didn't fry the meat in as much oil as called for, so it didn't turn out crispy, but it was still great. I added broccoli, bell peppers, and an orange at the end. It was great! My family suggested that it needed a bit more tang. Next time, I'll add a little rice wine vinegar. Oh, I also cut down on the sugar, per others' recommendation. Overall, we enjoyed this dish very much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
VERY good. Did cut back on the soy. Made it for husband, husband ate it, husband loved it! 'Nuff said. 12.27.09 - Have to update this one. This is now a standard at my house. SO simple and versatile. I can make any meat Mongolian now! This is the recipe I have been looking for for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is very good! I've made it a few times now and have lived, learned and experimented. The original recipe is too sweet for me and it didn't have quite the right flavor I was looking for. Here's what I've done. 1. I always serve over Jasmine rice, so I make sure I start this first so it will be done at the same time as the beef. 2. After prepping my ingredients, I start a pot on medium/high heat with the 1 cup of oil at the same time as the 10 minute wait for the beef. I use a separate pan for the sauce and heat that as well. 3. Once the pan is ready, toss in the garlic and ginger and be sure you don't burn the garlic. It will make your dish bitter. Have your soy/water/sugar mix all ready to throw in there to stop the garlic from burning. 4. Since it was too sweet for me, I reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup packed and added 2 tbs of Hoisin Sauce (you can buy this is the asian food section next to the soy). 5. By the time 10 minutes is up, the oil is ready in the pot. I use the slotted spoon to drop the beef in so I don't get burned by the hot oil. Do NOT overcook the beef or it will be too tough. 2 minutes is plenty of time. 6. Drain the beef and add it to the sauce. I wait until the end to add the green onions because they don't need long to cook and I like them to keep their color. 7. I serve over the rice and with a side of fresh mandarin oranges. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HMEDELL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States