Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was way too sweet for the both of us. Over all it is a good recipe but next time we are going to cut down the sugar by either cutting it out completely or just adding a few tablespoons. I will re-rate once we do, I think this recipe has promise. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
To salty and just blah....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidsbestfriend

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
What a wonderful quick delicious dinner. I adapted to what I had: a mix of ribeye and top round instead of flank steak; light brown sugar and molasses instead of dark, onion powder instead of garlic (my husband's allergic). I used less sugar and threw in broccoli (thanks to other reviews), and everyone in my family loved it. That doesn't happen often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Combined a couple of cook's previous comments and experiences. Used only 2 Tbsp brown sugar. While prepping everything - let meat sit in cornstarch. Since everyone said it was too salty - used 1/4 c soy sauce and 1/4 cup teriyaki. There were no leftovers between just me and my husband :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This recipe was very easy and really tasty. Only complaint is that it has a lot of soy so pretty salty. I'm going to try it with a low-sodium next time to see if flavor still the same. A keeper for sure. I've tried several other recipes and this really has been the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dexter, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Loved it! Served it over steamed rice and everyone thought it was delicious. Didn't change a thing, followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was an incredibly flavorful recipe that used ingredients I already had on hand. I found a flank steak from last July hiding in the back of my freezer, and while perfectly safe to eat, it was a bit freezer burned and I feared it would be tough if we grilled it, so I decided to try it in this recipe. We had a piece of ginger root left from a previous meal, as well as some green onions. Per previous reviewers suggestions I cut down the brown sugar (to 1/4 cup) and added a couple of tablespoons of rice wine vinegar to the sauce as well a some corn starch at the very end to thicken things up. I only used 1/4 of vegetable oil and it came out just fine, nice a crispy. I use Bragg's Aminos instead of soy sauce and did so here as well. This was a terrific recipe and easier to prepare than it looked -- this will likely become a go-to beef meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, except added broccoli. Very very good! I think there is a lot more sauce than is needed though. Next time I'm going to marinate the meat overnight with some of the sauce, then saute it with just a little bit of oil then add the rest of the sauce later. I also think it would be good with some regular onion or more green onions as well as more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Good sweet stir-fry sauce; however, this doesn't match the Mongolian Beef recipe I'm trying to duplicate. Next time I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/3 or 1/2 cup, as it was a little too sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
First time I've tried to cook this dish. Used flat iron steak rather than flank. Came out tender and delicious. Even my picky kids loved it (but not the onions)! Only downside was it took me a while to pre-cook the beef strips, but the dish was well worth it. Enjoyed every bite. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States