Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I made this last night with trader joe's beefless strips. My boyfriend said it was the best thing I've made. I used 1/2 the amount of brown sugar it asked for and just used the oil as needed when frying batches of the "beef" which is why it lost a star because I think it would be way too sweet if I put the amount of sugar they asked for. Besides that I thought it was pretty good and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shane Diana
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I found this awesome however I did add my homage hoisin sauce as a touch of added flavor. It works beautifully as a marinade for the beef prior to the cornstarch dusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Pretty easy, good. Used 1/2 cup br. Sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Tenderized beef w/ cornstarch, baking soda, water, salt, sugar. Used only 1/3 cup brown sugar for sauce. Made sauce and set it aside. Cooked beef in couple tablespoons of oil (did not drench beef with mor cornstarch$. Used some chicken stock to deglaze pan. Then added onions and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Annette
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this recipe pretty much as written, as far as amounts go. I used some different variations on a couple of items. I used reduced-sodium soy sauce, I'm glad I did. I used a natural form of sugar called sucanat instead of brown sugar and used London Broil steak instead of flank steak. I tripled the recipe and it took me three times as long to make too. :-) My family loved it though. One commented that it tasted a lot like a Pei Wei dish. That's compliment enough I think. If I were to change anything next time, I might tenderize my meat beforehand; although it was mostly quite tender. If I made this for company, I think I could make the sauce and fry the meat earlier in the day and keep in the fridge. Then it wouldn't take long to complete the final steps of chopping the onions and mixing it all together in the end. This way I could clean up the big frying mess on the stove ahead of time. All in all, it was a big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I've just about stopped stir-frying meats for Chinese stir-fry. For this recipe, I braised a big chuck roast for three hours at 200F, then trimmed and broke up the meat. Then I added about 1 pound of the cooked, trimmed meat to the sauce from step 1. So I don't have to stir-fry the beef, and the braised beef is much more tender than the stir-fried. I like it a lot better, and it has to be more healthy. For chicken stir-fry, I use roast chicken. Any excess meat can be frozen. I also added 6 mushrooms, sliced and stir-fried with garlic and ginger. The mushrooms are really good in this dish. And then the green onions. Stir it all up in the wok with the sauce from step 1, and serve with brown rice. The sauce (step 1): I agree with jeff97 that the sauce is too sweet. I'm going to try his method of adding a little sugar at a time. I tried it with hoisin sauce, but I thought it was too sweet. If you like it spicy, try stir-frying four dry red peppers along with the garlic and ginger in step 1. This adds a lot of flavor without making it unbearably hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just made this with Venison. It was delicious! Didn't have fresh ginger so I used 1/4 tsp of ground ginger and also, used sesame oil. Served it with basmati rice. I thought it was a bit too sweet, next time I'll cut down on the sugar but besides that.... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyinWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suquamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States