Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Fantastic! Beast homemade chinese food i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This would be 5 star after just a couple of adjustments. I used a little extra garlic, less sugar than called for, added in a couple of tablespoons of rice wine vinegar and a couple of tablespoons of asian chili garlic paste to give it some kick. My sauce did not thicken up despite extra boiling so I had to add a decent amount of cornstarch to get that nice thick glaze I wanted. In the end though, it was a phenomenal dish and everyone absolutely loved it. I served it over jasmine rice along side an asian green salad with miso ginger dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I had given up making stir-fry at home because it always turned out ho-hum. Then I found this recipe and I've been converted. It's delicious! I think the secret is coating the beef with cornstarch (and maybe also the 10 minutes absorption time?). Changes I've made: I always steam broccoli and sliced carrots for 10 minutes at the beginning and set aside, then add them (along with baby corn and the cut up green onions) to the skillet to stir-fry for a few minutes before returning the beef slices to the skillet. Tips: It's fine to cook all the beef slices at once (and I use 2 lbs. of beef!). Also, when I remove the beef from the oil I put it in a bowl rather than on paper towels. I used paper towels the first time and it was a nuisance getting all of the paper towel bits off the meat. My teenage son loves this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Very good flavor. Only change would be to back off sugar and add vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Excellent! I reduced the soy a little and compensated with water. I also used top round, and not flank steak, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was really not 5 stars my first try, but I know it can be better. Next time I'll try half the soy and add some worchestershire sauce. I won't use dehydrated garlic - either the fresh, or powder instead. I'm betting this will work just as well using the same skillet for all the cooking - Start with the meat and make the sauce next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was way too sweet for the both of us. Over all it is a good recipe but next time we are going to cut down the sugar by either cutting it out completely or just adding a few tablespoons. I will re-rate once we do, I think this recipe has promise. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
To salty and just blah....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Lakind

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
What a wonderful quick delicious dinner. I adapted to what I had: a mix of ribeye and top round instead of flank steak; light brown sugar and molasses instead of dark, onion powder instead of garlic (my husband's allergic). I used less sugar and threw in broccoli (thanks to other reviews), and everyone in my family loved it. That doesn't happen often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Combined a couple of cook's previous comments and experiences. Used only 2 Tbsp brown sugar. While prepping everything - let meat sit in cornstarch. Since everyone said it was too salty - used 1/4 c soy sauce and 1/4 cup teriyaki. There were no leftovers between just me and my husband :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States