Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just made this with Venison. It was delicious! Didn't have fresh ginger so I used 1/4 tsp of ground ginger and also, used sesame oil. Served it with basmati rice. I thought it was a bit too sweet, next time I'll cut down on the sugar but besides that.... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyinWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suquamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is my third try to get this without it being published before I finish. Since the amount of brown sugar seemed excessive, I used only two tablespoons. I also used less expensive thin slice steak and tenderized it. I worked with the meat first because the sauce is quick. I kept the sauce hot while the meat finished cooking and placed the meat into the sauce rather than discarding the oil, returning the meat to that pan, and then adding the sauce, I added the meat directly to the sauce, raised the heat to medium-high, added the green onions, and let it cook until the sauce thicken. This works much more easily than trying to get rid if extremely hot oil and is safer. It's delicious and one of our favorite meals over steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I added crushed red pepper to the ginger/garlic when sauteing for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Extremely good. Especially if you only use half the amount of brown sugar and soy sauce. It makes the dish a bit healthier and not nearly as overwhelmingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
A local restaurant has the best Mongolian beef I have ever had and I have tried a lot! This recipe is so close to it, it's amazing! My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Changed a bit to suit my taste: For the sauce I used 1Tbs olive oil 1 Tbs ginger garlic paste 1/3 cup soy sauce 2/3 cup water 2 Tbps rice vinegar 1/4 cup brown sugar For meat (I shallow pan fired it) I used 1 1/2 lbs sirloin sliced corn starch For veg I used 2/3 large sweet onion (separately sauted)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I would love to have this more. totally for saving but the less sugar the better I LOVED IT was so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Used just a little more soy and added Thai peppers....YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States