Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This stuff is the bomb! And here's how I changed it (LOL!): I omitted the water and cut back on the sugar a tad. The sauce will thicken when you add it to the sauteed beef due to the corn starch. My hubby likes to add the green onions at the very end - no cooking. I like to add a teaspoon or two of Sriracha sauce to add some heat. If you want to cut back on the fat, simply grill the meat, then cut it. You'll need to thicken the sauce with corn starch if you use this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JP
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Aweseome! I doubled or tripled the garlic and ginger. Also added a TBLSP of Sesame oil to the sauce, as well as TBLSP of red wine vinegar. Add a small white onion cut Julian style as well to the green onions at the same time (cannot have too much onion). Add thai red chili or red pepper flakes as well. Yum. Best Mongolian Beef ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious and easy...only thing I did differently was to used 1 tablespoon of brown sugar rather than the 2/3 cup called for in the recipe. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Best stir fry I ever made. I modified slightly to make it less fussy. I started by browning the coated beef in 1 tbls of oil until crispy as directed, then added the garlic/ginger for a couple of minutes, then added the sauce ingredients a little at a time until it reached the desired consistency and taste for me. I used about 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1/4 cup water, 2 tbls of Hoisin sauce, 2 tbls of brown sugar. Then I added broccoli until crisp tender and lastly the green onion for a couple of minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The entire family loved it. The sauce was sweet, so if you may want to reduce the amount of brown sugar. Also, it took me more like 45-50 min. to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
WOW! We absolutely love PF Changs Mongolian beef and, I have to say, this is right up there with theres....WONDERFUL! I followed the recipe exactly as stated, and definitely wouldn't change a thing! THANKS for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My family loved it! I added brocolli and mushrooms at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is a great recipe! Mongolian beef is my husband's favorite "Chinese food" so I gave this a go. The first time I followed the recipe spot on and it was great but a bit time consuming and messy. The second time I skipped the coating and frying and just simmered the meat to break down the fat and it was still great, tho the frying was better! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Awesome recipe, my husband loved it and went back for seconds. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This dish was wonderful! I rarely fry food so I didn't realize the importance of getting the oil to the correct temperature. The first few pieces of meat that I put in the hot oil got beautifully crispy within 2 minutes. Once I added the rest of the meat, I think the temperature got too low and the meat didn't get crispy like the first few pieces. Next time I will be sure the oil is hot enough and also fry in batches. The taste was still delicious, but I prefer the crispy meat. :) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States