Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This dish was wonderful! I rarely fry food so I didn't realize the importance of getting the oil to the correct temperature. The first few pieces of meat that I put in the hot oil got beautifully crispy within 2 minutes. Once I added the rest of the meat, I think the temperature got too low and the meat didn't get crispy like the first few pieces. Next time I will be sure the oil is hot enough and also fry in batches. The taste was still delicious, but I prefer the crispy meat. :) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This recipe was so delicious, I moved to a small town about 3 years ago and have never been able to find any restaurant here that can make it the "good" way. This recipe finally satisfied my and my husbands craving. I did alter the recipe a little which is why I couldn't the full 5 stars. I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup as some other reviews recommended, I also used 1/8 tsp of ground ginger instead of fresh because its what I had on hand. At the end I also added 1 TBSP of cornstarch to thicken the sauce a little, and a handful of frozen broccoli. It was so good, will definitely be adding to my regular recipe rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexi113

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Delicious! We used only 1/2 cup oil and seared the meat in the wok. Worked fine. We put the meat in the corn flour before heating the sauce-a little time saver. We didn't have green onions but instead had fresh brocoli and frozen leeks. We cooked those in the leftover oil from cooking the beef and then threw everything in. I'll say it again: Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
We didnt have spring onions, so diced a reg. white onion and cooked with the ginger and garlic in the beginning. SO DELICIOUS! We loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Using low-sodium soy sauce and reducing the brown sugar to 1/4, there wasn't the "too salty" and "too sweet" problems that others mentioned. I added broccoli and arsenic-free Jasmine rice. This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I don't normally review stuff, but I have to say that this basic recipe was really fun. I cut it all in half, but to the sauce, I added a dash of cayenne, some white pepper, and some onion powder. You have to adjust the brown sugar to your taste, but the sauce is just much better after you cook it with the meat and veggies. Anyway, I just used a large yellow onion, added some thinly sliced carrots, and thawed frozen peas, and this was absolutely luscious....just like from a Chinese restaurant. Thanks so much for a great contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notmuchofacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Albin, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
as soon as i started the sauce, i knew this was gonna be delicious..flank steak at my store is labeled London Broil, so i had to figure that out. i used low sodium soy sauce because my husband and i both have high blood pressure..it was just slightly sweet, but neither of us minded it. i might cut the sugar back a little next time. it was easy to make, and this recipe will be a stand by at my house from now on..although i will have to double the recipe to satisfy my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Lorenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Fantastic! I too cut down on the sugar. Used about half the amount, and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayman.30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
will use less sugar and brown rice. added water chestnuts cuz we love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre C. Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Fantastic! Beast homemade chinese food i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States