Mongolian Beef II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This was really yummy. I didn't use all the red pepper or chile peppers and added sliced carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Quick, easy & delicious... with a few changes: I use 1 bunch of green onions (chopped), 1 stalk of celery (chopped) & 1 tablespoon minced garlic. I also use less oil. I find it works great with just enough oil to coat the bottom of the wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIJEMINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
We loved this! The flavors were great. Over sticky rice - tasted like a wonderful chinese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This is a nice start to "Mongolian Beef" but is missing something... I think it is hot bean sauce which you can find online if you can't find it at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA 1212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spicer, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
This recipe was a great hit. The kids that had it thought it was a bit to hot but we loved it. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Way too salty and way too oily. Next time I will order carry-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsurfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
My roommate and I really enjoy this recipe and it is part of our regular rotation. I made a few changes based upon previous reviews: Used only 3 bunches of green onions instead of 4. Added a medium yellow onion cut into wedges. Added 4 cloves of minced garlic and approximately 1" of fresh grated ginger root to the marinade. Used 2 tablespoon of Aleppo pepper instead of the crushed red pepper and whole dried red chile peppers. I found that the Aleppo adds a nice bite to the dish without being too hot (I'm a whimp when it comes to hot food). I did not think the soy sauce was too overpowering and there was plenty of salt. With the above changes it makes this dish great! Good luck! Update: You may substitute vanilla extract for the sherry. I tried this and it tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
I was wondering how this recipe would come out if beef was substituted with chicken, since my family decided to cut down on red meat. Here are my modifications: take 3 large chicken breasts (4 pounds), separate in half, and slice each across in 1/2-inch thick pieces. Then marinate as described, but use low-salt soy sauce and double all amounts. Stir-fry green onions (add fresh rosemary), as in original recipe, set aside. Cook half of chicken and sauce, then the other half; keep adding more sherry in the process as the sauce becomes thicker. If you like spicy taste, keep chili peppers in; if you like it milder, take them out of sauce before cooking and dispose. Combine all together with cooked onions and heat through. Comes out very nice, sauce is thick and flavorful. I guess, garlic and ginger would increase taste, like suggested by other users. Takes some time to prepare, but the taste is rewarding, costs less than the beef recipe, and final amount is enouch to feed large (and picky) family. Definitely will make again, and will try to modify further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I made this recipe last night and the family really liked it. I made a few modifications which I think added to the overall flavour. I added ginger and three cloves of garlic. I also steamed aspargus along with the onions. We had it over rice noodles. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was ok. I felt the sauce was too thick and overpowering in flavor. It reminded me of Teri Tips which I prefer over this recipe (with a few modifications I made from the original recipe). I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States