Mongolian Beef II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I was looking for something to do with a sirloin tip roast that I had and found this recipe. Oh my gosh - it was a salt bomb. All I could taste was salt. The only change I made to the recipe was to add carrots and mushrooms. My husband and I couldn't even eat it. I even tried adding some beef broth in an attempt to save it, but that was useless. I love Chinese food and usually am quite accepting of soy sauce, but this was ridiculous. Was there an error in the recipe in that it should have included some other liquid?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I used pork instead of beef, and reduced the peppers by half (was still quite spicy, but I don't like a lot of heat). also added a good amount of fresh grated ginger cause I really like that flavor. It is a regular on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
easy to make and to adjust the heat and I like it hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I had a different Mongolian beef recipe in my box, but my thought was that I had always assumed that this dish was supposed to be spicy. The other dish listed nothing of the kind, so I found this one and have to say it was delicious .. rather then serving with noodles I served with brown rice .. will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Easily a 5-Star recipe! This dish is easy and fast to make and produces amazing flavor for the effort. I substituted dry red wine for the sherry, dried chipotle pepper for the red chile peppers, sweet onion for the green onions, and I added 5 cloves of garlic and one sliced red bell pepper. The result was a very flavourful dish with just the right amount of smoky heat. Absolutely delicious - a dish I'll be making regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecile

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapuskasing, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Dos Palos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My friend who absolutely hates spicy food gave me this recipe knowing how much I LOVE IT!! The spicier the better. I think this recipe is full of flavor, but for very very spicy as written. If you do NOT like spicy food this recipe is not for you. This is the first recipe that I have commented on that is how much I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good. I did make a few changes...I added an extra tbs of brown sugar to the beef marinade, added some fresh ginger and I left out the pepper entirely. I also used green peppers and green beans in addition to the onions and cooked them in oil and an extra half batch of the beefmarinade. I added some grated ginger and garlic to the vegetables as well. I would recommend using less cornstarch, as the beef marinade thickened way too much...I added extra soy sauce and some water to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Really good. I skipped the sherry and only used crushed red pepper - not whole. Also prepared it a bit differently so it wasn't totally "authentic" Mongolian Beef but very tasty anyway. I marinated and browned the beef (I used sliced flat iron steak) but then added about 1/4 cup water, carrots, and green onions and let it simmer for about 15 minutes. I cut the baby carrots in half lengthwise and then again in 3 strips -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great recipe. Had to modify a little due lack of correct ingredients. But it was a great recipe. Will make again. A keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States