Mongolian Beef II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very tasty. My husband thought it was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDERS70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Overall, a great dish. I shook it up a little. I subtracted the sherry and red pepper, and added two chopped garlic cloves, two teaspoons of powdered ginger, and black pepper to the meat mixture. I also seared the beef for about two minutes in the wok without the liquid to get some texture on the meat, and then followed that with the liquid. I added some thinly sliced white onion before combining everything. I served it over brown rice, topped with store bought fried chow mein noodles. The girl I'm seeing was muy impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I tried this recipe last night and it was awesome. Restaurant quality. I changed it up a lil bit because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used white zin instead of sherry, I added garlic, sliced carrotts and celery and yellow onion julianne style instead of green onions and it turned out great. Other reviewers thought the sauce was too thick so I used 2 tbsp cornstarch and it was perfect! It is not a soupy sauce, it is supposed to be a little thicker so it sticks to the meat. My husband loved it and this recipe is a keeper. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I haven't honed my Chinese cooking skills at all and this was a very easy dish to make. It was nearly restaurant quality. I would advise making it once to the recipe's specs to see what you want to add next time. I added some frozen garlic cubes. Be sure to whisk the slurry until it dissolves all of the corn starch and the thinner you slice the meat the better. This is a great base recipe that I'll use to develop a Mongolian Beef signature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
had to fix this quite a bit. i already used half the cornstarch called for but the sauce still turned out very pasty. i had to add quite a bit of water. i also added ground ginger, garlic powder, cracked black pepper (omitted the pepper flakes) and a bit more sugar and sesame oil to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
My family and I have made this dish for years. It is always a hit. I do replace the Sherry with red wine but otherwise I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misymiss
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Yum, Yum! Great recipe. I loved it and so did my husband. The meat was so tender and delicious. I added granulated garlic and added water because while I was cooking it, it became thick. Next time I'll add 1 or 2 tblspns of cornstarch to an 8 serving dish. Besides that it is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misymiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Not a bad recipe. Anything but bland as other reviewers stated. I don't know if I followed the recipe to a "T" though. I almost always make the recipe as written the first time so I can give it a fair review. After the initial attempt I'm free to use my creative license. Unfortunately the first time I made this recipe I didn't have all of the ingredients... exactly. I had to substitute some Pinot Grigio for the Sherry. I used some Sriracha in combination with the chili flakes instead of the whole chilis. I did have some Thai Bird chilis but I find it's easier to regulate the amount of heat using the chili sauce. I found the sauce to be quite salty, too much so. I also found the sauce thickened too much so I ended up adding more water. This had the advantage of reducing the saltiness as well. I gave the recipe 4 *s as I could've been at fault for not following or perhaps reading the recipe properly. I'm making this dish again tonight for my Korean sister-in-law so we'll see if I have to change my rating one way or the other. One thing I will keep the same as last time I made it was to add 4 cloves of garlic, two to the marinade and two to the onions when you initially soften them. I will submit my recipe for Spicy Thai Beef with Basil shortly, similar to this recipe but far superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Best I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My mom has made this recipe for years and it is a great addition to my dinner rotation. It's very easy to make and very easy to "tweak" for your own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristymiss

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States