Mongolian Beef II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2004
My roommate and I really enjoy this recipe and it is part of our regular rotation. I made a few changes based upon previous reviews: Used only 3 bunches of green onions instead of 4. Added a medium yellow onion cut into wedges. Added 4 cloves of minced garlic and approximately 1" of fresh grated ginger root to the marinade. Used 2 tablespoon of Aleppo pepper instead of the crushed red pepper and whole dried red chile peppers. I found that the Aleppo adds a nice bite to the dish without being too hot (I'm a whimp when it comes to hot food). I did not think the soy sauce was too overpowering and there was plenty of salt. With the above changes it makes this dish great! Good luck! Update: You may substitute vanilla extract for the sherry. I tried this and it tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This recipe was ok, but like others had written, it still needed something. I decided to try some garlic and ginger, I sauteed them in a separate pan and added them in toward the end. Fabulous! I cooked it for the family I'm a chef for and they raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This is IT! This is what I've been looking for! I disagree with the two previous posts- this is "eat it 2 times a week, yummy!" Doubling the sauce is not a bad idea if you like more sauce. I just kept it covered while cooking so the sauce didn't cook down. I added some sweet onions along with the green onions- just me preference. This is my new favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I was looking for something that would come close to the Mongolian Beef our favorite Chinese restaurant (well, not the favorite so much as the closest) serves. This surpassed it. I added a tablespoon of hoisin sauce and 1/2 tsp of baking soda to the marinade/sauce. I also reduced the cornstarch to 1 tablespoon. I stir fried the green onions along with some thinly sliced yellow onion and green bell pepper because that's how King's Garden does it. I also didn't use quite as much oil as called for, and everything came out terrific. My daughter claimed it was much better than the restaurant's! Thanks, Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I've made this recipe countless times. My husband regularly asks for it. I add mushrooms and carrots to the saute and serve with fried rice. Oh yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
YUM! Great recipe that tastes like a restaurant dish. I did make a few modifications. Added broccoli, added more sesame oil and cut down on the crushed red pepper. I served it over maifun rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I used sirloin steak and cut them into strips, turned out very tender and tasty. Thank you for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was pretty good, but I was looking for something like PFChang's. Probably will try another recipe before this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
All the Chinese flavor but without the complex cooking techniques. I was very pleased with how the marinade thickened into a sauce. This recipe is easy to prepare & tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
My fianci gave this 2.5 stars, I would give it 2. This definitely lacked flavor and heat. Next time I will try adding garlic,ginger and more sugar and kick up the crush pepper. Try adding water chestnuts for extra texture. Might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States