Mongolian Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe! With just a few tweaks (used low sodium/fat beef broth in place of water and added in snow pea pods) this will definitely be added to the rotation. It's a fairly simple dish as it is...but purchasing pre-cut meat (labled as being for stroganoff) and pre-shredded carrot (awesome!) made it too simple for words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was a great recipe. HOWEVER, lol to anyone that is reading this I wouldn't recommend using a teaspoon of the red pepper it is way too spicy. Use only a dash of red pepper. I did do some subsitutions I used the frozen sugar snap peas stir fry and 1 teaspoon of ginger. There were leftovers only b/c this was spicy with the tsp of red pepper. If you want this to be a spicy dish DEFINITELY use a tsp of red pepper. Other than that it was very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I doubled the marinade and next time I will cut the red pepper flakes in half because it was too spicy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This recipe is a pretty good base. I think it could use a little more flavor. I did take recommendations regarding doubling the sauce but really could've used more of a "kick" to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Very tasty! I was hoping for something more tangy, but this is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I made this recipe with shrimp but left everything else the same. It was good and had a nice kick to it. But I didn't feel as if there was enough "body" behind the hot pepper taste. I much prefer the sauce from the Szechuan Shrimp recipe also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This came out great! I added sugar snap peas because, well, I like those. I also doubled the sauce, and added a little ginger. Well be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I changed up the marinade for the meat a little bit, but it was really good served over fried rice. I added some mustard, pomegranate juice, low sodium soy sauce...lots of it and extra garlic. My Husband loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYCUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was very good and simple. Easy to whip up on a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I'm diffently no expert, but this could be just what Mongolian Beef is suppose to taste like. [It was a little on the plain side.] I will make again, but maybe add some different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States