Mongolian Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
good dinner! i got rave reviews- but i did as others did and doubled the sauce. i bought stirfry meat or already cut up meat in the grocery store to save time. i marinaded the meat with a lil soy and garlic for a couple of hours and added lots of pepper cause i like it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by navydtcook2006

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This is very tasty, however there is absolutely nothing 'mongolian' about it. Adding soy sauce and sesame seeds to a stirfry doesn't make it Asian or exotic...that said, it is a good, American meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wishek, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Okay, but DON'T use lite soy sauce, it needed salt! Also, triple or even quadruple the sauce part to make enough for the rice. I still think it needed "something" but can't quite put my finger on it. Slice the meat really really thin or it will take a while to cook. Like another said, chop everything beforehand, it takes a while. Next time I think I'll skip the cornstarch on the meat and just keep the soy sauce marinade (increase) and only use the cornstarch in the sauce part. I'll try it again, but change some things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This is the first time that I ever reviewed a recipe. I have made a lot of dishes from this website and I must say this is one of the best ones. I used a sirloin steak and it was very tender. It is so tasty and garlicky and my husband and I just loved it. I served it with buttered brown rice with fresh minced parsley and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
wasn't as spicy as i had hoped for, but still VERY good! I didn't put green onions in it, instead i put broccoli in it, and it turned out WONDERFUL! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I liked this a lot but my husband thought it was a bit spicy. Next time I will cut the crushed red pepper in half for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmsteen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Although this doesn't taste like the traditional "Mongolian Beef" dish, it is delicious!! People- do NOT make changes to this dish, I promise it's great as is! It's a 5 star dish in my opinion. And I will definitely be making it again. Word of warning though- it does make a lot of dishes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elyseholly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was great. My picky eatters devoured this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This turned out unsuspectingly good for the relatively simple list of ingredients! Reminded me of my favorite local Chinese restaurant's version of Mongoloan Beef, although I think mine was better since it didn't have as much cornstarch in the sauce, and was less jelly-like! If I were to make this again, I would add some sauteed peanuts into the mix, maybe some sambal olek (to really spice it up!) info the sauce fpr a taste more like the restaurant's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Betz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Very yummy!! Easy to prepare!! I served this with fried rice and egg rolls and my family loved it!! I used reduced sodium soy sauce so it wouldn't be so salty. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States