Mongo Guisado (Mung Bean Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
we made this today and it is really good! we added some shrimp and that makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
wow. this brings back memories of my lolo's cooking. this was his ultimate comfort food specialty. he never used prawns but he added slices of ginger and/or ampalaya. i think the prawns make a wonderful complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Excellent soup, rich and filling. I did add mushrooms (about 1 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is pretty close to the recipe I got from my mother in law! The only difference is she doesn't mash the beans. It's served over white rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4Jesus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Simple and easy. I simmer it with anchovies and add prawns (shelled and deveined) towards the end of cooking. I use the shell of the prawns by simmering it in vinegar and/or white wine, ginger, a bit of garlic and white onion to make a jus for steaming halibut or wahoo. These go so well together it makes my mouth water just writting about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Panlilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We don't eat pork so we deleted the pork loin, but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Om my gosh - excellent! I've never cooked mung beans before, always just sprouted them. I had no idea how delicious they are - they look like lentils when cooked but taste like black eye peas. I used vegetable broth rather than chicken broth, but otherwise followed recipe. May be one of my new favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My father cooked mongo all the time and I didnt know how to make it. Now I do. Taste just like his if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good recipe, easy to follow thank you! Ummm, instead of olive oil -- vegetable, corn will do, also - instead of salt -- season with Patis (fish sauce) for more aunthentic flavor. Delicious nontheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was the first time I made this and it turned out great! I used my slow cooker to soften the beans which turned out perfect. I also added tinapa in the soup...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ima13

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States