Mongo Guisado (Mung Bean Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good recipe, easy to follow thank you! Ummm, instead of olive oil -- vegetable, corn will do, also - instead of salt -- season with Patis (fish sauce) for more aunthentic flavor. Delicious nontheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Simple and easy. I simmer it with anchovies and add prawns (shelled and deveined) towards the end of cooking. I use the shell of the prawns by simmering it in vinegar and/or white wine, ginger, a bit of garlic and white onion to make a jus for steaming halibut or wahoo. These go so well together it makes my mouth water just writting about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Panlilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My father cooked mongo all the time and I didnt know how to make it. Now I do. Taste just like his if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Om my gosh - excellent! I've never cooked mung beans before, always just sprouted them. I had no idea how delicious they are - they look like lentils when cooked but taste like black eye peas. I used vegetable broth rather than chicken broth, but otherwise followed recipe. May be one of my new favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a regular dish when growing up in our Filipino household....but we always( and as as Fat Mike said) added shrimp to this for an even more delicious dish...always over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was the first time I made this and it turned out great! I used my slow cooker to soften the beans which turned out perfect. I also added tinapa in the soup...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ima13
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
i ate it, but was not really into it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
These are great. If you have never had mung beans and Malungay leaves, you're missing out on a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
we made this today and it is really good! we added some shrimp and that makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Excellent soup, rich and filling. I did add mushrooms (about 1 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States