Mongo Guisado (Mung Bean Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
wow. this brings back memories of my lolo's cooking. this was his ultimate comfort food specialty. he never used prawns but he added slices of ginger and/or ampalaya. i think the prawns make a wonderful complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Excellent soup, rich and filling. I did add mushrooms (about 1 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
we made this today and it is really good! we added some shrimp and that makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
These are great. If you have never had mung beans and Malungay leaves, you're missing out on a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
i ate it, but was not really into it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was the first time I made this and it turned out great! I used my slow cooker to soften the beans which turned out perfect. I also added tinapa in the soup...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ima13
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a regular dish when growing up in our Filipino household....but we always( and as as Fat Mike said) added shrimp to this for an even more delicious dish...always over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Om my gosh - excellent! I've never cooked mung beans before, always just sprouted them. I had no idea how delicious they are - they look like lentils when cooked but taste like black eye peas. I used vegetable broth rather than chicken broth, but otherwise followed recipe. May be one of my new favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My father cooked mongo all the time and I didnt know how to make it. Now I do. Taste just like his if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Simple and easy. I simmer it with anchovies and add prawns (shelled and deveined) towards the end of cooking. I use the shell of the prawns by simmering it in vinegar and/or white wine, ginger, a bit of garlic and white onion to make a jus for steaming halibut or wahoo. These go so well together it makes my mouth water just writting about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Panlilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States