Mongo Guisado (Mung Bean Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This ended up turning into a green sloppy mush when it was finished. I thought the pork and shrimp combination was an odd mix of tastes also. I won't make this again...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My grandmother used either bittermelon (ampalaya) or malunggay (drumstick/horseradish tree) leaves. She also seldom makes it soupy: the mung bean "soup), when boiled enough, becomes thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SALLYMANDER
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yummmmmm! Almost like my dad's, but he adds a couple of pieces of ginger and a dash of patis (Filipino fish sauce) for flavor which I did to this recipe. Mine came out a little too soupy so I would cut back on the chicken broth, maybe only add 2 cups. But it's a great recipe, tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This was my father's favorite dish ... now, it is also my favorite !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
My husband after his first bite of this great dish was "Oh this is good!" Great dish, a definite redo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ArdentlyCore
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This was completely unknown, as I bought some organic mung beans on sale and had no idea what they were. This got thrown together, pretty much exactly following the recipe (minus the prawns, I'm allergic) and I was blown away. I made a HUGE batch, and it was one of the FEW dishes that both my girlfriend and I weren't SICK OF by the time it was gone. Will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArdentlyCore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We don't eat pork so we deleted the pork loin, but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I know this is called mung bean soup, but I'm not convinced the mung beans actually add anything substantial, certainly not taste. I also tried the rice as some suggested, but think it does better as a soup. Besides that, I added fresh ginger, a splash of white wine in with the garlic and onions, and a pinch of red chili pepper. I tried adding ONE anchovy before simmering, but actually think it could do with two (ended up adding a few drops of fish sauce as well). Shrimp and spinach should be added at the last minute. LOVELY recipe! Very flavourful. I'll be making this again. Curious to try it with vermicelli noodles, but I'm convinced it works better as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is pretty close to the recipe I got from my mother in law! The only difference is she doesn't mash the beans. It's served over white rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4Jesus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good recipe, easy to follow thank you! Ummm, instead of olive oil -- vegetable, corn will do, also - instead of salt -- season with Patis (fish sauce) for more aunthentic flavor. Delicious nontheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States