Monday Night Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
it really was this easy. I used whole milk instead of cream, added a little bit more noodles than called for, and didn't add the mustard. kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This made exactly what I was in the mood for today! I'll add one note for others: I don't normally have cream in my fridge (and didn't today either), but it's quite easy to substitute, especially in this recipe where the percentage is specified. I melted 2 tablespoons of butter and mixed in 7 ounces of skim milk. Also, definitely do 12 ounces of macaroni by volume, not weight. This tripped me up at first, but is a minor issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
It really was that easy! All my attempts at mac and cheese are never as creamy and cheesey as I like them! I've just added some bread crumbs to it and put it in the oven for 15-20 minutes, just because I have the time. My daughter grabbed her bowl before that. Can't believe it was so simple. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
My daughter's new favorite Mac and cheese! I didn't have any cream on hand, so I used 2% milk, still turned out incredibly creamy and delicious. Next time, im going to throw a batch in the smoker.Recipe is so much quicker than the classic way, and less dishes to wash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmGood!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This is a great recipe. The mac and cheese was very smooth and creamy as well. I did make some changes to the recipe. I used 2 cups of water and 1 cup of whole milk instead of the cream. For the cheese, I used one cup of havarti and one cup of sharp cheddar. I added a bread crumb and butter mixture to the top after transferring this to a greased pan and baked it for about 15 minutes, but that was just because I had extra time. It would have been great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Good grief, this was excellent and SO easy! My niece requested a 'creamy' type mac and cheese and this was perfect. I followed the recipe to the letter, using half and half for the cream. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Finally!! I found a winner. My kids loved it The texture is perfect, I don't have cream so i substituted with low fat milk and still make out perfect...Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It's my favorite mac and cheese recipe! I add garlic salt instead of sea salt at the end to top it off and it makes it taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
made this for my sick 18mo old. He loved it! Very tasty and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Used soy milk and nonfat greek yogurt mixed to the consistence of cream instead. Worked perfectly. Best macaroni as far as creamy sauce I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States