Mom's Sweet Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Yummy!!!!! Not too sweet. I've made cornbread before that should have been called sweet corn cake. This does have a little sweetness (obviously from the sugar) but it's not too much like a dessert. Went great with vegetable beef soup from this site. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was pretty good, but a little on the dry side. The hot oil in the pan also pooled up over the top of my batter after I poured it into the pan, which resulted in the center top getting a little too brown. Tasted good, but I was hoping to get a better photo of the recipe. I served this with chili and a bit of butter on the cornbread, which helped with the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My husband loved it! He asked for cornbread with his chilli tonight so I made this. I had to use yellow cornmeal as I could not find white. Everything about this cornbread was superb. The texture was light and moist, no "off" flavors, in other words, perfect. Thank you Nandabear for sharing this wonderful recipe, I will be making it the next time someone asks for cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I grew up with cornbread but never got around to making it myself, until tonight. It was easy and really reminded me of growing up. Recipe was spot on and even hubby liked it. Now I will be looking for meals to have this with, other than pinto beans since DH is not fond of those. Only adjustment I made was to use yellow corn meal as I didn't have white. Next time I might add another teaspoon of sugar and I think it would be great with corn or hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Stack
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
We made this recipe last night to go with some taco soup that I had made in the slow cooker. Normally I would use a Jiffy Cornbread recipe because I've been too scared to try making cornbread "from scratch." I followed the recipe with one small modification: yellow cornmeal. I did not have white cornmeal to use. I didn't have a lot of time to get this made because I was working with it last minute. The recipe was so easy to follow which is a huge factor for me. It had a reasonable amount of ingredients and doesn't require three hours of stirring, kneading and other various baking terms I didn't have time for. It made a HUGE skillet full. Very thick. So delicious and I don't even like cornbread! Hubby loved it and apparently so did the sugar ants. I am adding this to my "kid tested, mother approved" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was great! Tasted just like my mom's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
So tasty! I made a half recipe in my 6 inch Pyrex dish, turned out crispy on the edges and very flavorful and moist. I did change the method a bit...I added the cornmeal to the wet ingredients first, then did the other steps; I find the texture in the finished product to be more acceptable to DBF. Cast iron would have made it better, but that's a lotta leftover cornbread :) thank you for sharing this awesome recipe from your other mom, Nandabear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was different than other cornbread I've made. The cornmeal, flour ratio especially. With that, it's much more "gritty" than the recipes with similar amounts. 'Not a bad thing necessarily, just something I noticed. I added less sugar, 1/4c. A third would not have been too much though. As cornbread, I like other recipes better; as the base for cornbread dressing, I think this is our winner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I really enjoyed this cornbread and it took me back to my Mother's kitchen. I'm a country girl at heart and this recipe is just what I needed. I will be making this when ever I need my fix of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This makes a scrumptious and versital corn bread. As Nandabear has said it can be used a varity of ways. I can imagine all kinds of add-ins. It reminds me of my grandma's cornbread which was a regular on her table. I will be making this my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States