Mom's Zucchini Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Delicious. I had no dill or parsley, so I just used oregano and thyme for the seasonings. I added garlic and celery to my sauteed onions which I sauteed in chicken broth and omitted the margarine. I don't like store bought crescent rolls at all because they are ridden with partially hydrogenated oils, so I bought a pie crust from a natural market and used that instead. I spread coarse ground mustard on the bottom of the pie shell, and topped with parmesan. Oh holy yumminess!! I'm going to get seconds right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I just made this today to reheat for dinner. I my 8 year old daughter scarfed it down. I asked her how many thumbs up and she said 8,000. I read all the reviews and took some advice. I added some minced garlic to the zucchini were cooking. I also added some parm cheese to the egg and cheese mixture. I also followed someone else's advice and let the veggies cool a little before I mixed it with the egg and cheese. This is a keeper, which is great because we have so many Zucchini. I just made this again last night. This time I added fresh tomatoes to half to try it out. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I was a little worried making this, it was my frist time, I read all the comments. So with that in mind I made some changes. Not many. I used the dijon mustard. I also added garlic cloves. Used fresh dill. When I removed the veggies from the skillet, I placed them on a paper towel while they cooled just a little bite, I cannot stop telling my husband how yummy this was and he agrees. I just emailed some of my friends this recipe. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I love this recipe. I have used one very similar for years. My recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard to be spread on the crescent roll crust before adding the zucchini mixture. It adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Turned out great! I will certainly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great recipe. I used fresh squash from the garden in place of the zucchinie. I added some bell pepper and cooked the squash until all the moisture was gone as others suggested. I also covered the crust with foil when baking. It turned out perfect. My family loved it and it was a good recipe for using up some of the squash from the garden. Thanks for the great recipe mrs. walter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I have made it so often in the past few months that I have committed it to memory. I add some wine to the zucchini as it was sauteeing, and some fresh garlic (I am teased that I would add fresh garlic to a dessert) and then I used the Mozzerella / Provolone mixture of cheeses. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
just like grandma used to make wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We did not care for this recipe at all. Don't waste your time or money with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
The pie would not set for me. I had to double the cooking time in order for it to cook in the middle. Once it was set it tasted alright. I think there has to be an easier recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States