Mom's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is my MASTER zucchini recipe. No need to look further. I've tried 3 recipes from this site, and this one is the BEST. I do half and half oil/applesauce and subsititute and reduce to 2 cups of sugar - plenty sweet! 1 cup brown sugar for the white. The brown sugar adds so much more richness and depth of flavor than just using all white sugar. I did start using at least 3 cups zucchini. It melts and disappears into the bread and all you end up tasting is the cinnamon. So 3-4 cups is best, with true zucchini flavor. It won't be green, trust me. No nuts needed or draining/squeezing out the zucchini either. The water adds to the moistness of the bread. 55 min. cook time for me. I did 60 min. the first time and it wasn't as moist. I live in the city, so I don't have a garden, but since zucchini is available year round, you can make this anytime of the year. Super quick and easy to make and my 2 and 5 yr. old inhale this stuff. Don't tell them about the veggies and they won't know it's there!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6707 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Very moist and good. I added a crumb topping as another reviewer suggested and that was fabulous! By trial and error, I discovered that the topping works best when added 15 minutes into the baking time. That way, the topping stays on top rather than sinking down into the batter as the bread bakes. I made 5 mini-loaves and baked a total of 40 minutes. (Crumb Topping: 1/2 c. regular oats, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. flour, 1/4 t. cinnamon, 1/4 c. butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3889 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Just a note to reviewers Draining zucchini . DON'T You are taking out the moisture the recipe requires. I fairly firmly pack shredded zucchini then I do not fold in I use a beater on medium speed and the bread is moist and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
excellant recipe ! I replaced 1 cup of the plain flour with whole wheat flour , used unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil, reduced the sugar by 1/2 a cup and used ener-g egg replacer for a much healthier ,vegan version . The bread came out beautiful , moist and tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Great way to use up some of the zucchini in our garden. I'm a mother of three and I'm always looking for ways to sneak in vegetables and fruit whenever I can. I also make substitutions to ingredients to make the recipe a bit healthier without compromising the taste. For this recipe I did the following substitutions: 1) for the flour I used half white (1 1/2 C) and half whole wheat (1 1/2 C). 2) I cut the salt in half (1/2 t) 3) Instead of 3 eggs, I used 2 egg whites and 2 mashed bananas 4) I used half the oil (1/2 C) and added 1/2 C of plain applesauce 5) I decreased the sugar to 1 C. I scooped the batter into a muffin pan and convection baked it for 11 minutes. The muffins were wonderful and the whole family gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
796 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This is the best base for a zucchini bread I've ever had. I changed it some so my daughter would eat it. I left out the cinnamon and added milk choc. chips. To make it more healthy, I added 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 applesauce. I took this to a church dinner and one little girl ate 5 pieces and another ate 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
738 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is a great recipe. I will keep this recipe in my file box in the kitchen for many future uses. This is the kind of recipe that I would make copies of to share with friends. Really delicious. As always I prepare the recipes exactly as they are submitted. I believe this is the only fair way to offer a review. If a cook adds or subtracts from the original then they are not preparing the recipe as written and really should not base there opinion on the end result. I usually just ignore the reviews that say "I added this or added that"! I am a big supporter of preparing the dish as written and then reviewing that result. I don't dabble with the recipe until after I have prepared it properly as submitted. This is one of the few recipes that I would give 5 stars to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
560 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I lost my original zucchini bread recipe so I was looking for something similar. This recipe was it! But I added an 8 oz. can of crushed pineapple and some cut up maraschino cherries. This recipe turned out better than my original recipe and to top it off I got three loaves of bread out of it. Everyone loved this one, even my super picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! My family's favorite! I have tried many recipies looking for a great zucchini bread. I did like some others, but this is our favorite. Very moist and flavorful. After first loaves I made some substitutions to make it a bit healthier - 2 cups whole wheat flour and one white, half applesauce, half oil and added a bit of wheat germ. I don't measure it - maybe a little less than 1/4 cup, and also added nutmeg. Love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was delicious and guess what? I didn't change anything and I certainly didn't substitute any apple sauce for the oil because if your gonna bake, then BAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,808) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States