Mom's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Excellent!! Due to a bunch of zucchini to use up I went searching for recipes. This is it for bread. I love cooking (and eating) quick breads and this is the best. I did use my 1/2 rule: half whole wheat flour, half oil and applesauce and half brown/white sugar. Used 2 cups of sugar and plenty sweet. Thanks so much and will be making more this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Super moist and ymmy! I modified as follows: 1) 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour + 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour; 2) reduced baking soda to 1/2 tsp; 3) reduced cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp to accomodate my picky son; 4) reduced sugar to 2 cups but modified to 1 cup organic cane sugar and 1 cup brown sugar; 5) reduced vanilla extract to 1 1/2 tsp; and 6) used 3 cups shredded zucchini since I had a lot (not drained) My total baking time was 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
My kids love it and so do all my neighbors !!!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Followed reviews to sub in applesauce for half the oil, half brown sugar (instead of all white), and it took about 70 minutes in my oven. My 3 year old who is veggie-phobic ate about half the loaf in 2 days, and the other loaf went to a party where, once people found it, it was devoured instantly and the recipe was requested! I'd say that's a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
WOW. YUM. And I didn't even have all of the suggested ingredients. Used part white flour & part cake flour. Found that I didn't have vanilla extract so I used almond extract instead and added about a 1/2-3/4 tsp. of cardamom. Baked one in an aluminum pan & one in a glass pan and they both turned out AWESOME! Perfectly crisp edges and soft moist center. Thanks to a fellow reviewer I ended up using just near 3 cups of zucchini and I think it really helped keep the moisture just right! I'm not much of a baker but nobody would ever know with this recipe!!! Bake on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've made this several times, adding different things each time. I add a quarter cup of applesauce to the mix and I use pecans instead of walnuts. I used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
The best zucchini bread ever! I substituted 1 cup of brown sugar and kept the rest white sugar, added a good 3.5 cups of zucchini, used coconut oil instead of veg. oil and added the crumb topping from other reviews. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This turned out so delicious- a topping is not even necessary, at least the way mine turned out :) I followed the recipe exactly and can't say one bad thing. The top almost had a crystallized yummy taste to it and it was plenty sweet (and I love sweet!) I did have to bake it an extra 10 min (ovens vary) but it was worth the wait! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Patterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I really love this recipe. It is very simple and cooks up very nice for me every time. Instead of using it as a bread since it is rather sweet I use it as a cake instead, patted down, topped with a layer of vanilla buttercream and sprinkled cinnamon! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Scotia, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Believe it or not this is the same as my Mom's zucchini bread recipe. I have an abundance of zucchini this year and I have been using this recipe to bake and freeze zucchini bread. The recipe is delicious and it freezes well. The only thing I changed was that I used coconut oil in place of vegetable oil. We thought that substitution really made a nice difference. Next time there is a potluck you forgot about at work just take the made ahead zucchini bread. It is sure to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States