Mom's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I have used this recipe before with excellent results. Yesterday I decided to try a slightly healthier version and thought I would share the results, because it turned out great. For the flour, I used half all purpose, and half organic sprouted grain spelt flour. I increased the baking soda slightly (about 1/2 tsp extra). For the oil, I used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also cut the sugar back to about 1 3/4 cups, but added about 1/4 up of organic blackstrap molasses. Also, I wanted to use up both zucchinis I had in my refrigerator, as they were on the verge of going bad, so I shredded them both and added them to the mixture--it was almost four cups of shredded zucchini, but this didn't seem to throw off the recipe at all! I love this recipe and the way it normally tastes, but I thought I could make a few tweaks to improve the nutritional content. It came out GREAT. It's so moist and yummy, I love the molasses flavor, and you definitely cannot tell I cut back the oil by half! I'm sure if I cut out the oil completely it would would have changed the bread's consistency, but cutting it in half was fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Bratton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeLancey
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Delicious! After reading quite a few reviews, I doubled the zucchini (two large zucchinis, grated), cut the sugar back by 1/2 cup, and replaced half the oil with homemade apple butter. A huge success! Still plenty sweet and no crazily overwhelming zucchini taste. I'll definitely be making this again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLancey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
It truly is a master recipe for Zucchini bread! My family and I are obsessed with it - practically making it every other week. I call it sweet bread and my kids (3 & 5) have no idea they're eating zucchini! I also add an extra cup of shredded zucchini and sometimes a tbsp of wheatgerm of ground flax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I've made this recipe several time and everyone loves it! I substituted applesauce for half of the oil, whole wheat flour for 1 cup of flour, and brown sugar for one cup of the sugar. I've also added grated carrots! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My four year old loves this. It turns out great just as is. I now make it as muffins, and do add brown sugar and apple sauce, just due to my four year old's preferences, but it is excellent either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie Keane
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Perfect as is . Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING!!! My kids & hubby Love it!!! It freezes well too! Love it with coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I've made this recipe several times, and it's always a hit. I've swapped the walnuts for different nuts or seeds, even dried fruit, and it's always turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
It drives me nuts when someone writes they made a recipe, but then they change so many things about it! I'm going to make this tonight and I'm not going to change anything! I'm sure it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
You know it's goo when the husband says "Mmmmm" after every bite. Moist, dense and delicious - a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,072) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States