Mom's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I have made this exactly as written, and I have made it with all kinds of variations. No matter how you tinker with it (or don't tinker with it), this is a 5-star base recipe. The last time I made it, I halved the sugar, doubled the zucchini, subbed half whole wheat for AP flour, subbed half the oil for applesauce, and added a crumb topping. It was still fantastic, just a little closer to my personal taste. I think as long as you've got the basics there, as they are in this recipe, make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice now - the second time doing so because I assumed I must have made a mistake somewhere along the way the first time. My only mistake was trying this recipe in the first place! The bread is more of a super dense paste-like cake. My husband will eat anything and he agrees it's garbage worthy. I'm at a loss at how this has so many positive reviews - other than people totally altering the recipe along the way. Words of advice - keep hunting for a better recipe. ANYTHING would be better than these zook bricks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Very good, but a little too much sugar for my taste. Next time I would use cane sugar and less of it. Overall very tasty. Got a nice crust. Just layered pecans on top instead of walnuts mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My husband has been making this the last couple of weeks and we eat the heck out of it! Awesome Zucchini Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is the exact recipe that I've used since it became popular in the 1970's except for one thing. My vintage recipe calls for 2 cups sugar--one regular white and the other brown sugar. It just give is a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This zucchini bread was moist and tasty, but I had to alter the recipe to make sure I had enough batter for my size pan. I had to use brown sugar since I had a minimal amount of white sugar left, and it turned out rather dark (obviously). I forgot to add nuts, too. :/ Also, as soon as I pulled it out of the oven, it sank in the middle. :( Do bake longer than 45 minutes, or else it isn't done. Tasted great, kind of sugary, not the best I could do. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Well, I must have done something wrong which is the only reason for the 4 stars. Lots of flour made my batter more like cookie dough than batter consistency. Tastes very good, just came out hard as a rock on the outside. Don't know what happened there, but really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is awesome! I used this recipe exactly as written with no changes and it is great. No need to make any variations. No need to try any others. FYI, one large zucchini comes out to just about 2 cups. My husband had never had zucchini bread. I have now made this 4 times in the past 2 weeks because I have fresh garden squash. He absolutely loves it. Perfect snack, not too sweet, convenient to grab a slice and go. Try it while it's still hot with some real butter on it and you will be hooked. ( oops, I lied. I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I have 4 young children. I have made this recipe several times and my kiddos love it! The bread is so moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I halved the recipe as I only have 1 loaf pan. I replaced the oil with applesauce and grated an entire small to medium size zucchini and threw it in the bowl. I baked for 55 minutes. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,808) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States