Mom's Yummy Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was really good. I added chopped up potatoes to it and a can of cream of potatoe soup. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anastasia Tonisheva
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The ingredients in this recipe work together perfectly. The crust on top of the onions tasted delicious. My only concern with this recipe is the amount of onions. I used 4 onions instead of 9 and still it seemed like way too much. This is definitely a side dish, and if you're not a big fan of onions, you might not be able to eat a lot. On the other hand, if you do enjoy onions, you might finish the whole thing in one day. Great recipe, but personally I would only make again for someone who is an onion lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great way to treat onions as a vegetable! instead of an accent. I used cream of celery instead of cream of Mushrooms, because it is what I had. Used a mixture of French fried onions and Ruffles Sour Cream and Chives Potatoe chips. Used 5 VERY large onions and made in a 7 x 12 inch Cassarole dish. Sauted the onions in two batches. Looking forward to making this dish again. Would love to take it to a Pot Luck. Ate it as a side dish with Steak, also cold the next morning and warmed up the next evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
WOW! So delicious! I had to change the recipe some due to lack of ingredients in my pantry... Only had 1 onion but I still used the same amount of sauce. Cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom (and fat free). Low-fat margarine. And since I didn't have potato chips, I used diced potatoes instead (which soaked up that extra sauce.) All I can say is... YUM YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent! I did omit the butter and brown 1/2 lb. seasoned ground beef along with the onions for a complete meal in one! (I also omitted the chips, I had none and instead sprinkled bread crumbs over the cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
The taste of this dish is excellent; however, I was not as thrilled with the texture. In the future, I might add some egg to help set up the casserole or decrease the recipe and make it as a side dish. As a side note, I used some of the leftovers in a quiche which added a lot of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
WOW! This was awesome! We have a new holiday recipe - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was really good. Like everyone else I thought it'd be weird but it's quite tasty. I ended up using leftover french onion soup but drained the liquid and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this to take to a community BBQ this evening and came home with an empty pan! It was fabulous. I didn't have any beef bullion, so I substituted beef broth for the water and bullion. Since bullion is so salty, I sprinkled some Tony Cacheres' Creole Seasoning on the onions as they were cooking to make up for the lack of flavor from not using bullion. I will definitely make this one over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
i LOVED this dish , although i didn't have any faith in it at all until the very last moment it was done , the ingredients just looked weak and weird to me ..but who knew ? VERY delicious ..i would definitely make it again ,would be nice to serve guests as well , but i would not make it as the main dish this time ..and if i make it for two of us again, i will half the recipe ,i hated having to throw out the rest ..Thanks a lot for sharing it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States