Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I baked these rolls for christmas dinner. They were gone! I think it is great! Yes, a little sticky. . .just add a little more flour to it. If you are familiar with putting bread together it is no problem. I am baking some more right now! I had lost my other favorite, this has become my new one! Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Made these yesterday for Thanksgiving. WONDERFUL!!! The kids are still talking about them( and eating them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vjfisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sodus Point, New York, USA
Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Very good. Nice recipe. Don't listen to resapeas review. I can taste why this is on the top of Google's list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
What I did different: I did not add sugar as the recipe called for mainly because I'm a diabetic and also because this recipe reminds me of my mothers that she made every thanksgiving when I was a kid. By not adding the sugar I'm sure it lacked a tiny something everyone else got out of it but I still find it delicious and it doesnt attack my blood sugars as badly lol very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Bakers unite! Chins up! Aprons on! This recipe worked for me after all and was incredibly tender, light and delicious. True, it was a sticky batter-like mess when it went to the first rise. It looked bubbly and Swiss cheese-like when I took it out to punch it down the first and second times. I also buttered the top of the glob while preparing it for the first rise which made removing the plastic wrap easier. I DID add a little extra flour, perhaps as much as 1/2 cup for the full batch. It was still very sticky and soft when it was time to form the rolls so I sprinkled flour on the countertop and used just enough to keep it from sticking to me. I placed 18 rolls in a buttered glass baking dish and let it rise for a third time, about 20+ minutes before baking them. They were sublime...rich and tender and Texas tall! I will absolutely make them again and because they were so easy, I may just volunteer to make them for Thanksgiving this year! And by the way, my husband asked me to pack up a bunch of them to take for his lunch to work tomorrow to eat with his homemade chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
First, let me say, I like how the bread I made with this recipe turned out. I also used half the dough for rolls. That being said. My rolls were not light and fluffy (still yummy though). My bread loaf had no problem rising. This was my FIRST attempt at making bread using yeast, so I called my mom. After reading the recipe to her, she told me it would make a heavy bread. Also, the recipe never mentions to knead the dough (it says to mix it). Had I not called Mom, I think it would have been a messy disaster. I will make a loaf of bread with this recipe again. Still looking for a good dinner roll recipe, though. Oh, one hint to add from my mom...when letting the dough rise keep it away from any drafts or breezes and cover with plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I tried to make these using proportions called for. However, I had to use more flour to firm up the dough. Taste was good and I am sure these will be attempted again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stanley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thorsby, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
The dough is gooey, I don't add the cold water to it. It isn't the prettiest bread I've ever made but it sure is delicious! Made it two days in a row. I used it for hot dog buns, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
They were not what I was looking for. They were a little tuff and not very soft on the inside. For a weekly meal they work fine but for a special dinner I would choose a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
These rolls were great. I used this recie as my first try ar yeast rolls. Needless tosay, it was easy. The dough was quite stick, so I was worried for a moment. The second batch that had a chance to rise a third time while waiting to go into the oven were much lighter, fluffier, and looked just like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States