Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I used a stick of butter instead of margarine and honey instead of sugar. The dough was very moist, but not that hard to handle. I used a scoop to measure out the portions for the pan, but found there to be way more than I could fit in one 9x13. Spacing them a little closer together works best, as mine tended to spread more if they didn't butt up against another roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
i just made this recipe, it did not turn out well at all. the rolls didnt turn out right they are kinda doughy i followed teh recipe exactly and they do not look liek the pics if wasnt so doughy the would taste ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I had to increase the flour by 2 cups just to make the dough (or DOH!) manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I baked these rolls for christmas dinner. They were gone! I think it is great! Yes, a little sticky. . .just add a little more flour to it. If you are familiar with putting bread together it is no problem. I am baking some more right now! I had lost my other favorite, this has become my new one! Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Made these yesterday for Thanksgiving. WONDERFUL!!! The kids are still talking about them( and eating them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vjfisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sodus Point, New York, USA
Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Very good. Nice recipe. Don't listen to resapeas review. I can taste why this is on the top of Google's list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
What I did different: I did not add sugar as the recipe called for mainly because I'm a diabetic and also because this recipe reminds me of my mothers that she made every thanksgiving when I was a kid. By not adding the sugar I'm sure it lacked a tiny something everyone else got out of it but I still find it delicious and it doesnt attack my blood sugars as badly lol very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Bakers unite! Chins up! Aprons on! This recipe worked for me after all and was incredibly tender, light and delicious. True, it was a sticky batter-like mess when it went to the first rise. It looked bubbly and Swiss cheese-like when I took it out to punch it down the first and second times. I also buttered the top of the glob while preparing it for the first rise which made removing the plastic wrap easier. I DID add a little extra flour, perhaps as much as 1/2 cup for the full batch. It was still very sticky and soft when it was time to form the rolls so I sprinkled flour on the countertop and used just enough to keep it from sticking to me. I placed 18 rolls in a buttered glass baking dish and let it rise for a third time, about 20+ minutes before baking them. They were sublime...rich and tender and Texas tall! I will absolutely make them again and because they were so easy, I may just volunteer to make them for Thanksgiving this year! And by the way, my husband asked me to pack up a bunch of them to take for his lunch to work tomorrow to eat with his homemade chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
First, let me say, I like how the bread I made with this recipe turned out. I also used half the dough for rolls. That being said. My rolls were not light and fluffy (still yummy though). My bread loaf had no problem rising. This was my FIRST attempt at making bread using yeast, so I called my mom. After reading the recipe to her, she told me it would make a heavy bread. Also, the recipe never mentions to knead the dough (it says to mix it). Had I not called Mom, I think it would have been a messy disaster. I will make a loaf of bread with this recipe again. Still looking for a good dinner roll recipe, though. Oh, one hint to add from my mom...when letting the dough rise keep it away from any drafts or breezes and cover with plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I tried to make these using proportions called for. However, I had to use more flour to firm up the dough. Taste was good and I am sure these will be attempted again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stanley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thorsby, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States