Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made the mistake of adding more flour because, as the reviews said, the dough didn't look 'right' - wish I hadn't. The rolls turned out heavy, like biscuits and we didn't finish them all, odd for a big bread loving family. Ill try again, however, I chalk this up to learning, never made a yeast bread before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Pretty good, needed a bit more flour, but most bread recipes are pretty variable. Needed a bit more salt as well, but otherwise these came out pretty good. Agree with Perigod, the recipe submitter probably didn't have an exact amount. I'm of the old school of baking as well that you just add what "looks right" rather than some exact measurement - especially when it comes to bread! =) You just learn how the dough "should" be, and aim to achieve that. So yeah, not for beginners, but if you're able to tweak, it works. And the baking time will vary by the size of your rolls, how many you are making, and of course your oven, so the 30-45 minute variation is to be expected. Just keep an eye on it, when it looks right, its done. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made these for Easter and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I'm a sucker for a good yeast roll (aka Lodge Rolls at the Whistlin' Jack Lodge in Washington State on State Route 410). This comes pretty darn close in terms of flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I've been making yeast bread for over 30 years now. This recipe isn't really for someone trying to make yeast rolls/bread for the first time, as it did require some tweaking. Yeast bread dough isn't, as a rule, supposed to be so sticky you have to pour it like a batter. You should wind up with a ball of dough that is silken to the touch and springs back when pushed a little. I had to use about 8 cups of flour, give or take. After 30+ years, I know when a batch of dough will be good and when it will be crappy. In this case, it will be a good batch. I'm thinking perhaps the poster of this recipe is sort of like me: Most recipes are in my head & I have to show someone versus try to write it down as I don't really use traditional measurements. My cooking teachers were Old School Southerners, ya used yer eyeballs & yer hands, not measuring cups & spoons. So, I'm giving the poster a break, 'cause if I tried to write my recipes down, they'd need lots of tweaking and work, too. :-) Rule of thumb for this recipe? Not for newbies. Intermediate & Advanced bakers should know how to work around the glitches. If not, well, ya need more practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
i absolutely loved these rolls they are soooo fluffy and very good when freshly coming out the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I tried this today using my new Kitchen Aide Mixer. The dough was so gooey. I added at least 1 additional cup of flour. Not sure what else to do, so I poured it into loaf pans instead of making rolls. It smells wonderful and has risen beautifully in the oven, but not sure it is a roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Batter was sticky like everyone says, but these rolls were very good. My kids loved them and even had them for breakfast the next morning. I used half whole wheat flour and half bread flour. I think a little more salt would make them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
i have made these numerous times there's never any left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I did something wrong, they didn't turn out very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States