Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I love this the best recipe I have tried need a bit more flour but other than that, EXCELLENT! They are so light and fluffy, I add fresh and dried herbs on different occasion and still are perfect. Thanks so much Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Yes!!! Definitely soft. Although, I suggest using a lot of salted sweet-creamed butter.Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Love the simplicity of this recipe. I was a little skeptic on how it would turn out with no kneading but it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrstnsail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Adams Run, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time (supposed to have made them for Thanksgiving 2013). I'm glad I didn't because, like others have said previously, it definitely needs more than 5 1/2 cups of flour, maybe 6 ups, especially with 2 1/2 cups of liquid. The dough rose beautifully, twice. So I used flour to roll each one prior to placing them in the pans. A dense, chewy roll if you like rolls with a dense texture. Good flavor, browns very nicely. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Something is messing, there look good but the taste is off. This is a basic yeast rolls recipe. I added more flour, used butter instead of margarine. I will use it again, but I will use more yeast, flour, more sugar. Or a better recipe that use more flour. This is only a basic recipe with many flaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is the closest recipe to my mother in laws and is always a hand slapping for he last roll at the dinner table. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
The dough was too soft to make balls out of so I realized I should have added more flour. I did that. They were delicious. I thought they would not be good without kneading but they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I agree with the others in terms of needing more flour than the recipe called for a least a cup more of flour. I also used my kitchen aid mixer and think that it absolutely needed the extra flour in order to get the dough to the right consistency. I think that the walnut size was way too small for a dinner roll, so I suggest that you make them a little larger. Good flavor. I would make them again with the appropriate changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmyv68

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is a really nice recipe for yeast rolls. I would definitely not recommend baking for more than 30 minutes though if using something besides a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
halved the recipe. more like a batter. definitely needs more flour than the recipe calls for. we used about 3/4 cup more for 1/2 a batch. taste was ok, not great. will try again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States