Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
It is my opinion that if a recipe gives so many different results that it is probably not a very good recipe. I tried this recipe as I was curious as to why so many had poor result and so many good. I work in a bakery and I have to say that I tend to agree with the poor results side. The recipe is definitely gooey. Either the liquid is wrong or the flour amount is wrong. I did not add the 1/2 C of cold water to the yeast. I simply poured the yeast into the first liquid step when the temp. cooled down a bit. This worked great. I kept the flour amount about the same and also I kneaded the dough for 10 mins. I think that there are so many other great recipes out there that work everytime and it would serve you well to find one of those, especially beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
502 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Excellent rolls! I had to add more flour than called for. The next time I will make them bigger than walmut size. I also made some into cinnamon rolls. I like the dinner rolls better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
These were great! I halved the recipe and got worried because it came out more of a batter than dough. I made pull apart rolls with it. They were spectacular right out of the oven! And even the day after were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I was looking for a recipe that most closely matched the one I grew up enjoying. I had misplaced my copy of the measurements. This on is truely a winner. I replaced; the warm water for warm milk, the cold water for warm water(which I used to proof my yeast). More flour was called for but since I was used to light kneading of the dough, I used the additional flour in the kneadind process. I made this for my Xmas dinner & everyone raved so much about them. I am now about to try to use the recipe to make cinnamon rolls. THANK YOU SO MUCH KATHY FOR SHARING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I have tried this recipe numerous times with excellent results! These rolls are light and fluffy...and make wonderful cinnamon rolls. My daughter says they are the best rolls she has ever tried and I agree! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I cut this recipe in half to get 18 rolls. I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and warm water for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then I added melted margerine, the egg and the dry ingredients. This dough needed 1 3/4 more flour than the recipe stated to get the dough into a ball and able to jump on a hook. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes then I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I got 11 smallish rolls out of this recipe, not 18. I covered the top of the rolls in the muffin tin with saran wrap before letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another hour or so. I baked them at 400 degrees for 12 minutes, then brushed the tops of the hot rolls with vegetable oil right out of the oven. These rolls rose a little slow but the flavor of the rolls was very good. I liked that this roll asked for no milk, no butter as I have a child with a milk sensitivity. I'd make these again--they remind me of rolls my Grandma used to make. No frills but comforting all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This is one of the best recipes for rolls that I have ever found they meltin your mouth and are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orick, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
These were really easy to make rolls, I made a half recipe, doubled the sugar and used butter instead of margarine and they tasted great although they were somewhat small. I did also have to use more flour and I will definitely try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
These rolls seemed like they were straight out of a restaurant. I cut the butter to 5 tbs and they still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I see that a lot of users are having issues with this recipe. Without having actually tried this recipe I suggest not using "hot water." You may me tempted to use very hot water to melt the butter. I would melt the butter separate and even slighty cool it. From there, use warm water, hot water kills yeast and therefore the bread will not rise. The other thing I noticed was that the bread does not have a final rising time after being shaped. In baking, this is called a final proof. This allows the yeast to create gas and in turn, will rise the dough and when baked will be light and fluffy as expected. I am actually going to try this recipe tonight and I will update to let you guys know how it turns out. So I made the rolls yesturday and they came out just fine. Another thing, mix the salt with the flour (salt kills yeast) and I added the flour all at once and only used the warm water, the 2 cups of cold water would have definitely made a batter. The dough was a little sticky so I added about 1/4-1/2 cup more flour. Once the dough rises, the flour absorbs more of the liquid and because these are dinner rolls it's okay that they are a little tacky at first. A wooden table or cutting board dusted with flour makes the dough easy to work with. I will keep this recipe at 3 stars because the directions are misguided, and the amount of water is off to the amount of flour. If you follow these tips you'll have nice dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States