Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Great tip about using milk instead of water. I also had same result of very wet dough, added ALOT more flour than the recipe called for. TIP- after second rise, shape dough into balls and place inside of well greased muffin pans. Cover and leave in the fridge overnight. They will rise again, yield the perfect size roll and allow you to enjoy your rolls fresh from the oven when YOU'RE ready for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I think that the recipe needs some finessing, particularly for those, like me, who aren't terribly experienced in breads. I added more flour, and could have probably used a lot more, also, I think there should be a recommendation to let the rolls rise again before baking. That being said, the flavor was AWESOME! These rolls, although they didn't LOOK great, were so delicious! It wasn't a problem as they were just for a regular home supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These turned out horrible. I followed the recipe exactly- this didn't make dough- it made batter. I used it anyways. These were not light and fluffy- they were heavy and tasteless. I had to throw them out. Sorry, but this recipe is not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I used a stick of butter instead of margarine and honey instead of sugar. The dough was very moist, but not that hard to handle. I used a scoop to measure out the portions for the pan, but found there to be way more than I could fit in one 9x13. Spacing them a little closer together works best, as mine tended to spread more if they didn't butt up against another roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
i just made this recipe, it did not turn out well at all. the rolls didnt turn out right they are kinda doughy i followed teh recipe exactly and they do not look liek the pics if wasnt so doughy the would taste ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I had to increase the flour by 2 cups just to make the dough (or DOH!) manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I baked these rolls for christmas dinner. They were gone! I think it is great! Yes, a little sticky. . .just add a little more flour to it. If you are familiar with putting bread together it is no problem. I am baking some more right now! I had lost my other favorite, this has become my new one! Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Made these yesterday for Thanksgiving. WONDERFUL!!! The kids are still talking about them( and eating them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vjfisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sodus Point, New York, USA
Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Very good. Nice recipe. Don't listen to resapeas review. I can taste why this is on the top of Google's list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
What I did different: I did not add sugar as the recipe called for mainly because I'm a diabetic and also because this recipe reminds me of my mothers that she made every thanksgiving when I was a kid. By not adding the sugar I'm sure it lacked a tiny something everyone else got out of it but I still find it delicious and it doesnt attack my blood sugars as badly lol very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States