Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Something doesn't seem quite right. This dough is very very sticky. I had to add about 2 more cups of flour to stiffen it up enough to form into balls. Otherwise I would have had to POUR into muffin tins to hope to get rolls. I know how to cook and bake, so I doubt I made a mistake in measuring. Working on the first rise now. I will update again when I have the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeann Finley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I cut the recipe to 18 and had to add more flour, then more flour, and more flour to get the dough maleable enough to work with. The rolls were very tasty, but I wouldn't make them again since I had to guess at the amount of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This recipe didn't work for me. I read the reviews where people had to add more flour, I thought maybe a cup or two, you would have to add 5-6 cups more flour to make this recipe successful. I hope that if you read my review you won't ignore it and try it anyway (which is what i did) don't waste your time, your money, and your flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Beth!
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
These were great! I cut the dough in halft and made monkey bread and the other half of the dough into dinner rolls and malasadas. The dough was very sticky so I added an extra 3/4 cup flour. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Beth!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
use this recipe to make stuffed rolls. I halved the recipe and proofed the yeast for 10 minutes, plus let it rise a bit longer. I rolled out a ball of dough and added veggies, spices, and veggieburger. Wrapped it up and shaped it into a ball. I followed the baking intructions and it turned out great! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Made this bread for the first time today. Batter was hard to work with, but; the taste and texture of the rolls after I baked them is excellent. Have added this recipe to my recipe box. Thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: New Caney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
It was a Total failure!!! I read the reviews about the flour and it was really wet dough. I held off adding to much more flour and they did not rise and came out dense and a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I use this recipe every time I make bread. I do need to use more flour than it calls for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
These rolls were pretty good but I didn't particularly LIKE them. The dough was like a nightmare! It took A LOT of flour to get the dough shaped into a ball and I almost gave up! When they were done baking you could see all the flour I had to use to shape on the OUTSIDE of the roll! Ihated to use so much flour but it was the only way to shape it! They tasted ok but I could taste the flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4-H girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made the mistake of adding more flour because, as the reviews said, the dough didn't look 'right' - wish I hadn't. The rolls turned out heavy, like biscuits and we didn't finish them all, odd for a big bread loving family. Ill try again, however, I chalk this up to learning, never made a yeast bread before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States