Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is the closest recipe to my mother in laws and is always a hand slapping for he last roll at the dinner table. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
The dough was too soft to make balls out of so I realized I should have added more flour. I did that. They were delicious. I thought they would not be good without kneading but they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I agree with the others in terms of needing more flour than the recipe called for a least a cup more of flour. I also used my kitchen aid mixer and think that it absolutely needed the extra flour in order to get the dough to the right consistency. I think that the walnut size was way too small for a dinner roll, so I suggest that you make them a little larger. Good flavor. I would make them again with the appropriate changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmyv68

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is a really nice recipe for yeast rolls. I would definitely not recommend baking for more than 30 minutes though if using something besides a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
halved the recipe. more like a batter. definitely needs more flour than the recipe calls for. we used about 3/4 cup more for 1/2 a batch. taste was ok, not great. will try again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Great Results. I used butter instead. I had to add about 3/4 cup extra flour. I will definitely Make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The baker in me knew that there was not enough flour in these for my liking. I added around 3/4 to 1 cup of additional flour in the kitchen aid. They were still a bit sticky but flouring the hands helped. I also let them rise the third time after forming the dough into balls. They are quite lovely with a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I found that the issues outlined by the majority of the raters proved to be true. The dough was sticky and needed substantial more flour. I also will use butter milk instead of the hot water when I bake the rolls again. That was what my mother used in her recipe. i haven't found anyone who could make the rolls as wonderful as she did. These rolls came close and with some tweaking I think I will have a winner. When it was all done, the rolls were delicious. I am so happy to have found this recipe. This year I will be making my mother's rolls for Thanksgiving. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I cut this recipe in half to get 18 rolls. I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and warm water for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then I added melted margerine, the egg and the dry ingredients. This dough needed 1 3/4 more flour than the recipe stated to get the dough into a ball and able to jump on a hook. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes then I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I got 11 smallish rolls out of this recipe, not 18. I covered the top of the rolls in the muffin tin with saran wrap before letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another hour or so. I baked them at 400 degrees for 12 minutes, then brushed the tops of the hot rolls with vegetable oil right out of the oven. These rolls rose a little slow but the flavor of the rolls was very good. I liked that this roll asked for no milk, no butter as I have a child with a milk sensitivity. I'd make these again--they remind me of rolls my Grandma used to make. No frills but comforting all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was my first time making yeast rolls. We loved these. I was surprised by the sticky batter but did not give in and add more flour. I was glad I followed the recipe. Per the picture and the advice of a few of the reviews, I did use a muffin tin instead of a 9x13 pan. They baked beautifully. For those who said they did not like this recipe, notice that they added more and more flour - DON'T DO IT!! Grease up those fingers and dig in!! Enjoy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States