Mom's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
The dough is gooey, I don't add the cold water to it. It isn't the prettiest bread I've ever made but it sure is delicious! Made it two days in a row. I used it for hot dog buns, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
They were not what I was looking for. They were a little tuff and not very soft on the inside. For a weekly meal they work fine but for a special dinner I would choose a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
These rolls were great. I used this recie as my first try ar yeast rolls. Needless tosay, it was easy. The dough was quite stick, so I was worried for a moment. The second batch that had a chance to rise a third time while waiting to go into the oven were much lighter, fluffier, and looked just like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I see that a lot of users are having issues with this recipe. Without having actually tried this recipe I suggest not using "hot water." You may me tempted to use very hot water to melt the butter. I would melt the butter separate and even slighty cool it. From there, use warm water, hot water kills yeast and therefore the bread will not rise. The other thing I noticed was that the bread does not have a final rising time after being shaped. In baking, this is called a final proof. This allows the yeast to create gas and in turn, will rise the dough and when baked will be light and fluffy as expected. I am actually going to try this recipe tonight and I will update to let you guys know how it turns out. So I made the rolls yesturday and they came out just fine. Another thing, mix the salt with the flour (salt kills yeast) and I added the flour all at once and only used the warm water, the 2 cups of cold water would have definitely made a batter. The dough was a little sticky so I added about 1/4-1/2 cup more flour. Once the dough rises, the flour absorbs more of the liquid and because these are dinner rolls it's okay that they are a little tacky at first. A wooden table or cutting board dusted with flour makes the dough easy to work with. I will keep this recipe at 3 stars because the directions are misguided, and the amount of water is off to the amount of flour. If you follow these tips you'll have nice dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made these rolls over the weekend for my family and I have to say Add a cup more flour or take away a cup of cold water. I added more flour and made the recipe using cupcake pans and also a loaf pan. They were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsShae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Yes it is true that more flour was needed, but in the end we made some really awesome rolls!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Worst bread I have ever made. I am a well experienced baker and cook, and I did not care for this recipe. Makes me mad that I wasted so much of my bread machine yeast on these! They are heavy, and dough is way too gooey as written. Had to add too much extra flour just to work with it. Keep searching...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
JUst didn't work for me. Followed recipe and dough never rised. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
1 star as written! I made this last week and it was perfect, I went to make it this morning and realized that last time I forgot to add the extra 1/2 cup of water. Well, I added it this time and NEVER AGAIN! I had a sticky, gooey mess that I had to keep feeding flour. I'd give it 5 stars without the extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I don't know where all the bad reviews come from. I used this recipe for the 1st time last September. From the 1st time I used it to the 7th time I used it. They come out as described every time. I've never had issues with the yeast, the dough rising, or the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States