Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Wanted to add that you can change the recipe to your tastes. I have since started using fat free milk and artificial sweetener. My son made me one with brown sugar and it tasted heavenly. So please feel free to experiment with this to make it your own. Enjoy! I have to give this 5 stars. The combination of flavors is so calm and relaxing. Over the years I have made substitutions like with a sugar substitutes and it is still good. I have been making this for 14+ years and our boys continually ask for it. I know that it seems like alot of sugar. But it really does work with the combination of flavors. When I made it it was by sheer co-insidence that the boys became sleepy after drinking it. I did not have any hot chocolate or tea bags on hand as they had been outside playing in the snow and I just made it for them. They went to bed by themselves after having this. I thought surely not. But yes it does put you in a calm state of mind. I have made it with honey when I did not have sugar on hand. It really is good and it is so relaxing. I hope this will be a family favorite for you as it has become one of our's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
When my honey was in the Navy he and the guys had many a sleepless night. He recently got out and is now schooling and working. Both full time. I tried this on him and it was perfect! He has been getting better sleep and even passed it on to his Navy buddies still on the ship. They don't often admit when my cooking is good, well because it usually isn't... but they loved this and continue to thank me. It's a quick fix they can make on the ship. Thanks so much for this recipe. It's wonderful. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I am almost nine months pregnant and have tried everything to get some sleep at night. I started drinking this every night before bed and have been sleeping A LOT better! Thank you for this recipe, I will use it for a long time to come when I or someone in my family can't sleep. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Nutmeg is a wonderful addition to this drink! However, it seemed extremely sweet for me... two tablespoons of sugar for one cup? Wow! I know I'll make it again, but with less sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is wonderful and reminds me of sleepovers at my grandparents so many years ago. I added cinnamon to mine just because I am a cinnamon freak. With the holidays around the corner this is sure to become a family favorite in many households. Hubby suggested that a candycane/peppermint stick would be good at Christmas. Thanks Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Normally I'm not a fan of anything short of ice cold milk. However, I tried this when I was having trouble getting to sleep.It was just what I needed. It tasted great.Not a sleeping pill, but possibly the best 3 minutes miracle I have ever tried. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
i LOVED it! it is sooo easy and is like a hot milkshake! as son as i tried it i made some for my sister and mom, they both thought it was great 2!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
After a crazy day of non-stop action, the birthday girl and her brother were having a hard time getting to sleep. I made this for them and they drifed off like babies! I used Splenda™ because my son reacts wildly to sugar and they both loved it. Thank you, thank you... I'll have to remember this for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
My grandsons spend the night weekly & I like to make them a bedtime snack. They loved this! I served it to them in vintage teacups...they thought it was so special. I hope you don't mind me changing the name to "Honey's Warm Milk". :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I LOVED this recipe. It's great as a "pick-me-up" drink, and it goes extremely well with a box of Kraft Dinner Mac & Cheese. When I inititally tried this recipe out, I didn't have any ground nutmeg with me, so I substituted it with a pinch of brown sugar, and a little less white sugar. It came out really well, with all sorts of flavour. I would try this cold next time, too! Great recipe, Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States