Mom's Warm Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I have been making this for years. I thought I was the only one who makes this, guess I was wrong! Also great with a cinnamon stick instead of the nutmeg. Just let it simmer with the milk. Sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This reminds me of having steamed milk. I used a little less sugar than the recipe called for. I'd consider making it again and trying a different kind of flavored extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
So easy! And an awesome flavor! My daughter and have have been drinking this almost every night since I discovered the recipe. It is a good way for both of us to be drinking the milk we should be. Last night I slipped a bit of rum into my drink. That was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
My son has been having a hard time with sleeping and his ped recommended warm milk before bed, we've been adding a little sugar free chocolate and strawberry syrup to it, but I wanted to try this one out to see what he'd think. It was a little too sweet for him and I think the nutmeg was a little "weird" for him. I used a little less nutmeg than called for and used Splenda instead of sugar and I thought it was a very nice bedtime drink, but think it didn't need as much sweetener and would stick with about 1/8 tsp of nutmeg so its not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I'd been having a hard time adjusting my sleep schedule to suit my new class schedule at University, so my mom suggested warm milk. Needless to say, I was out like a light within half an hour of drinking this yummy find. Now I drink a cup every night as part of my before bed ritual. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Add a little cinnamon or a tiny bit of cinnamon extract and this drink makes eyelids heavy in minutes! I like to use dark brown sugar instead of white for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Great recipe for my daughter at bedtime. Instead of sugar I used two teaspoons of honey, and its delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Made exactly as written, except with powdered milk instead of regular. It was delicious and so relaxing! I loved it and am planning on having it again tonight. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
this was delicious! however, i found it too sweet for my taste and reduced the sugar to 1 and 1/2 tbsp. also, i added 1/8tsp of cinnamon and 1/8tsp of nutmeg, but i found that i didn't like the nutmeg flavor in my milk. next time, i will drink it with just 1 tbsp of sugar and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon only. thank you for the recipe! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States