Mom's Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was the first year I got to make all of the sides for Thanksgiving and I decided to try a new way to make the turnips. This was a very successful dish everyone loved it. Only bad thing was there were no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Pine Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I wanted a few turnip recipes because on occasion, I do like them. I agree with another reviewer that the proportions are all off. I used 1 teaspoon of bacon fat and 2T of brown sugar and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. If I find another turnip recipe, I’d replace this one with it as this was ok, nothing to write about and wouldn't serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This recipe makes turnips actually edible,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Edible, but I was very disappointed that I wasted bacon on this dish :( I should have just eaten the bacon by itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I thought this was a great way to use the turnips which were part of my organic vegetable delivery. My husband, who had said he would not eat turnips, remarked that they were well disguised. I also added about a pound of cooked fresh green beans to the dish, which made it an even tastier, more substantial meal. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
i found that the turnip was very mushy and bland...i also found that all i could taste was grease...sorry but i made it for thanksgiving meal i think i'll have to make another substitute veggie dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ppajjo2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
All my life i have hated turnips. i used to leave the house when my mother cooked them and refused to sit at the same table if they were served. For some reason, I decided (now that I am much, much older) that I would give them an "adult" try. WOW! I wish my mom would have made them like this. I've missed out on a great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This will be a new tradition in our home; could even be a sweeter hummas-like dip for pita chips to please those with a sweet tooth at parties. I just processed it in blender until smoother for that use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
To die for! This recipe will make a turnip lover out of anyone! I cut back the brown sugar a tad and added more bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Had a houseful of people when I tried this recipe all but 2 kids liked it. All 6 adults liked it. None of us have liked turnips any other way. I used about half the bacon, because that was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States