Mom's Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Love this and the second day is even better! We have so many turnips in our garden this year that I have been looking for different recipes. I gave my father this recipe along with the turnips, he isn't a big turnip fan, and he thought it was great. It is a little sweet so the next time I am going to cut down on the sugar. This is a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made this using 4 turnips, one of which was massive, and I still think I needed more. As written, the recipe generates a dish in which the amounts of bacon and brown sugar seem way out of proportion to the amount of turnips. I think at least 6 (large-ish)turnips are needed. Also, when the brown sugar melts, it creates a lot of liquid. To compensate for this, it would be a good idea not to boil the turnips as long as you might if you were just making regular mashed turnips; you don't want the turnips to retain that much water. At the point where you stick a fork in the boiling turnips and think, "Maybe a few more minutes," immediately take them off the stove. Finally, you can dispense with adding the bacon fat. You won't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I think I am not a turnip person, tried it for the first time, so maybe I haven't developed any taste for it yet. By the way, I used soy bacon and some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
For turnips, this probably is "the best". My husband, who likes turnips, really thought this recipe was good, although he did say it wouldn't be how he would always want to eat them. I, who doesn't like turnips at all, was pleasantly amazed that this recipe makes them edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
ok....I didn't know that hubby didn't like turnips and I made this recipe to go with cornish hens and wild rice. It was perfect and HE ATE IT! The brown sugar gave such an umph to dullness of turnips and you never can go wrong with BACON! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I have been serving mashed turnips at Thanksgiving for 30 years, using my mother-in-law's recipe. I've never really been fond of them. This recipe changed my mind. Even my mother-in-law thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe for turnips! Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Awesome dish. Everyone thought it was apples for some reason. I guess it tastes too good. This dish contained a lot of fat. It wouldn't be good for someone who has to watch their fat intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States