Mom's Traditional Creamed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have been making creamed onions for years. Got the recipe from my ex's great aunt, her Swedish recipe. Use milk and half and half. I use a stick of butter and 8 tblsp. of flour. Heat it together to form a nice, caramel color rue. Add the milk/half and half mixture slowly into the rue whisking constantly. I add a few tblsp. of finely grated parmesan cheese and salt and pepper only. Makes two 10" pie plates of these wonderful onions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Just made these this afternoon, I really liked the recipe just a bit bland, will definitely make it again adding other spices, a great recipe to play around with..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Try using Rice Flour for a gluten-free dish! This is a favorite of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
way to much sauce for a cup of onions...but otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbean13shea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe calls for way too much liquid and not nearly enough onions for the amount of sauce. 3 cups liquid TOTAL is all you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My mother in law is coming for Thanksgiving dinner for the first time in 18 years. She asked to have creamed onions and I exected a winner with this recipe. I am not a creamed onion fan. I saved 4 cups of water + the 3 cups of milk = 7 cups of liquid!! I melted the butter and used 6 tablespoons of flour. Once I added the liquid slowly I found myself stirring for over 25 minutes while adding much more flour. It finally started to thicken after 30 minutes. I addded over 1 cup of onions (about 30) and they are swimming in the sauce. My husband says it is good but I am going to run to the store and buy more onions to make it look better. I also have about 3-4 cups of sauce left. The water/milk should have been 1/2C and 1C respectively. I sure hope my inlaws like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Make it easy on yourself and use a couple of jar onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great recipe - my husband is an onion fanatic and he loved this with roasted lamb chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was excellent!! The last time I had creamed onions, they were frozen! This was way better and much tastier. Here is what I did: Bring the water to a boil, and drop your onions in, skins and all, let them boil for 1-2 min., drain them. Then, you cut them, by doing it this way, it is much easier. Far as the white sauce goes, equal amounts of butter and flour, combine the milk with the cooking water. I did it a cup at a time. 1 C. of cooking water mixed with 1 C. of milk, pour that in gradually. The spices I used were salt and pepper to taste, and Paprika. On any spice, you can always add more of it at the end, so go sparingly while in the pan. Paprika is a great spice, a nice hint of color, and a great taste too. My husband and I loved this dish, he's never had them before and he enjoyed this. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks Ibby! Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it's just somewhat bland. I added a bit of garlic powder, but still kind of boring. Another reviewer suggested using a bit of chedder and topping with crushed buttery crackers, then baking, and I will probably try that with the ample leftovers I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States