Mom's Traditional Creamed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
I liked it but I thought it may need a little more flavor... I was thinking maybe add cream instead of milk and add some chives! Other then that it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILANNE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I used fresh onions & snow peas from the garden to make this recipe and it was wonderful. I did not use all the liquid however. 7 cups milk & cooking water just seemed like too much, but maybe it would be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Yummy!!! I would add sauted mushrooms next time with a touch of white wine.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
this was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
My entire family raved about these. Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Big fan of the creamed onions. Another suggestion(what I do)is add sharp chedder cheese to the sauce while it is thickening the after I pour the sauce over the onions I top it with a Ritz Cracker and butter topping, and bake for about 35min. This is a lot richer than your recipe,so some people may not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Very little taste to me. Tasted like milk with onions dropped in it. YUK! I might try it again tho, but with a LOT LESS milk...just enough to give it some body, and I may use cream instead of milk, and add chives or something else. All in all....didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Way too much watery sauce for the amount of onions called for. I'd use half the amount of liquid and maybe some dehydrated onion bits to give the sauce some flavor in addition to the salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Added 3 cloves of garlic and 1/2 lb mushrooms to this receipe. Easy to make and great addition to a dinner party...something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xgymnast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States