Mom's Traditional Creamed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
...after I fixed it. Use TWO cups onions. Leave out the cooking water and just slowly add milk to the hot flour and butter and stir constantly until creamy. Stir in onions and transfer to an ovenproof serving dish. Use ONION salt instead of plain. Bake just until bubbly (but not brown) in a 350F oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The proportions are wrong on this recipe. I had to throw out the sauce and replace it with another recipe I found elsewhere. The other recipe with the same ingreds made a creamy sauce. 12 oz pearl onions, and 2 cups of water used to boil onions only. The creamy sauce was made with 3 T butter, 3 T flour and 2 C. milk, slowly adding the milk, salt & pepper to taste. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I think there is an error in the amount of onions for this recipe. Maybe 2 pounds of onions or 1 package? One cup of onions would not serve six people. Otherwise the ingredients listed would make great creamed onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia R
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Rating is for my recipe, not the one above. I use a tablespoon of non GMO Corn Starch instead of flour. 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of the onion water after the onions boiled. 2 tablespoons of butter. Salt and pepper. I make the cream sauce and then pour it over my cooked pearl onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have been making creamed onions for years. Got the recipe from my ex's great aunt, her Swedish recipe. Use milk and half and half. I use a stick of butter and 8 tblsp. of flour. Heat it together to form a nice, caramel color rue. Add the milk/half and half mixture slowly into the rue whisking constantly. I add a few tblsp. of finely grated parmesan cheese and salt and pepper only. Makes two 10" pie plates of these wonderful onions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Just made these this afternoon, I really liked the recipe just a bit bland, will definitely make it again adding other spices, a great recipe to play around with..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Try using Rice Flour for a gluten-free dish! This is a favorite of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
way to much sauce for a cup of onions...but otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbean13shea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe calls for way too much liquid and not nearly enough onions for the amount of sauce. 3 cups liquid TOTAL is all you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My mother in law is coming for Thanksgiving dinner for the first time in 18 years. She asked to have creamed onions and I exected a winner with this recipe. I am not a creamed onion fan. I saved 4 cups of water + the 3 cups of milk = 7 cups of liquid!! I melted the butter and used 6 tablespoons of flour. Once I added the liquid slowly I found myself stirring for over 25 minutes while adding much more flour. It finally started to thicken after 30 minutes. I addded over 1 cup of onions (about 30) and they are swimming in the sauce. My husband says it is good but I am going to run to the store and buy more onions to make it look better. I also have about 3-4 cups of sauce left. The water/milk should have been 1/2C and 1C respectively. I sure hope my inlaws like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States