Mom's Texas Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Would be a five star with a few edits. I double the pudding and cream cheese mixture, use Dream Whip instead of frozen whipped topping, top with toasted coconut and chopped pecans, and use a Nilla Wafer crust on this one. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/vanilla-wafer-crust/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
My Mom made this but used lemon pudding...when I made it for the Iowa State Fair (many years ago) it won 2nd place !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
great base recipe. I added crushed pineapple (drained) into the cream cheese layer. And I doubled the size of the crust (2 sticks of butter, 1/2 cup of pecans, 1 1/2 cup of flour, and 1 package (6 graham crackers) of graham crackers to make the crust thicker - I think this really helps to add sufficient texture to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Loved this coconut version! I've always had the chocolate, but you know...I think I like this better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I have made this type of recipe before but used pistachio pudding, which is a big hit. I tried this tonight and it was good but next time I will add another box of coconut cream pudding and a cup of milk to the third step. The cool whip and crust outweighed the flavor of the coconut pudding. This would be a great recipe to bring to grad party's or family gatherings because it goes a long way. BUT....add that extra box of pudding and cup of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Tasty dessert! I made one and a half times the amount of crust because I can never seem to get the crust spread out in a 9 x 13 inch pan and another half recipe of crust was just enough for my pan. I compared this recipe with other pudding desserts and others call for 3 cups of milk with 2 boxes of pudding. I compromised with 2 1/2 cups of milk which seemed to be just right. I topped mine with toasted coconut pieces. This is a nice dessert and a change of pace from chocolate. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a versatile recipe. I like to use a lemon icebox pie for pudding. MMM good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Romayor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is an excellent recipe, our family has been making it since the early 1970s. The changes we made were to use real whip cream and to make the Coconut Pudding from scratch. Has been a family favorite for nearly 40 years. Either way it is just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RunnerGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
this is good...but i think the 9x13 dish is a bit to big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunnerGirl
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This recipe is really easy and tastes great, I double the cream cheese/sugar/whipped topping layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leoti, Kansas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States