Mom's 'Sweet 'n' Sours' Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Make this often and use pork button bones. Because they are leaner I added beef broth so the sweet sauce stayed right consistency and didn't burn. Need about 1/4 cup once in the 30 min simmer. Added again 1/4 cup beef broth and then garlic and simmered again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is more like a 4.5 recipe. The flavor is delicious, and it's pretty simple to make. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out too thin. I will cut 1/2 to 1 cup of the water from the recipe next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this recipe. Didn't do all the things it said to do but went with one of the reviewers and just mixed everything and put it in the oven at 325 and cooked until they were done. I used cider vinegar and would cut back on the amount called for in the recipe a little next time. This is a great recipe if you want to do a lot of ribs for a lot of people with little or no fuss for you. I used boneless pork ribs and will just make a couple of salads and that should about do it. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mcgregor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
OK..BBQ ribs are way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omahataxidriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These ribs turned out amazing!!! My 6 year old SUPER picky eater who hates everything with sauce, tried it and cleaned his plate!!! I don't think i can go back to not having ribs this way!! Thanks for sharing a family treasure.. I will def be passing this along to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Koski
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Fast, easy and delicious - I added a bit of garlic powder to the dry mix and then browned the ribs in garlic infused oil. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
First time I made these I followed the instructions exactly...except I cooked them in a slow cooker and they were AMAZING. Since then I've probably made them a dozen times and have evolved the recipe to suit our tastes. I add crushed pineapple , candied ginger pieces and some maple syrup and YUM!!! These can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alu1977
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I used boneless pork ribs. Incredible flavor! I added to my yakisoba stirfry. Will try over rice next. Very easy to cook. Everyone love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alu1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
So delicious. These ribs are so tasty, what a nice sauce! I browned the ribs in some olive oil and placed them in the slow cooker for 6-8 hours on low (with the sauce of course). The meat just fell off the bones. I added 3 cloves of garlic to the sauce instead of 2 and I added it at the start. Definitely a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Boiled the pork for 30 mins then dumped everything in the slow cooker. Cooked on low for 8 hours took pork out and shredded with two forks. Put the pork back in with the sauce for a few minutes. Served over white rice. Next time I will cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup. And although I didn't think it was too salty I think I'll cut the salt down to 1/4 teaspoon next time. Make sure you use low sodium soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States