Mom's 'Sweet 'n' Sours' Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very yummy. I will be making this again definitely. Something is a bit off about the sauce...it might be the fact that I had to use prepared mustard (I didn't have any dry), or perhaps something would be gained by adding ginger as one review said. And by off I don't mean bad at all!!! The balance just seems to be a tiny bit off, and it would take a better cook to figure that out than me! Next time I will add some ginger (didn't have any this time) and I'm super excited to try it the way one reviewer did, with cubed pork loin! Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is delicious! My husband loves it. I even forgot to add the garlic at the end this time and it is still good! Winner all the way & so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Koller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seagoville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I subbed 1 lb. cubed pork for the ribs (it was what I had), but followed the recipe as far as boiling the meat, draining, browning in oil, and simmering in the sauce (the time was a little shorter than as written). My 4 year old daughter (who doesn't often finish her dinner) raved about it served over white rice, and even had a second plate! My super picky husband said it's his favorite pork dish I've made in 7 years of marriage. This one is a definite keeper for us. I steamed some broccoli and we loved it with the sauce. It was similar to eating Chinese food, but better because it was homemade and much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Kusel, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This recipe is good but not great. I have had better before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaiian Deelit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I've been looking for a sweet and sour spare rib recipe that's close to our favorite Chinese restaurant for years and this is it! I can't believe how easy this was, with ingredients I keep on hand plus taste fantastic! By the time I talked my son into letting me use this recipe instead of his store bought terriyaki sauce, he had already seared the country ribs in a skillet. All I had to do is cut them into bite size pieces and whip up this sauce. He only let me simmer it on the stove top for about 20 minutes and it was wonderful over steamed white rice. The only change I made was cut back on the salt ( we aren't use to a lot of salt in our diet) to 1/2 t. I did add 1 small can of pineapple tidbits with juice and about 1 cup of red, orange and yellow bell pepper thinly sliced. It was so good. I also used rice vinegar. I didn't know if the apple cider vinegar would be overpowering. Next time I'll try brown sugar just for curiosity and sprinkle with sesame seeds, if my son gives me time. LOL Update: I made this again but this time I omitted the salt and just sprinkled the meat with salt, pepper and garlic powder before browning. I also cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup and it was perfect. Don't be afraid to use apple cider vinegar, it's not too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Very Good, I made this & Garrett & Stephen Sr. liked it. Deifinately make again. :-) Four 1/2 stars with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Schmitt Monahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Love this recipe! The kids loved the sauce on their rice. Definitely a new household favorite - hubby has it on his "request list" now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is my husband's all time favorite meal! I do the recipe exactly as it is, except I cook it in a slow cooker for 8 hours. Served with rice is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Make this often and use pork button bones. Because they are leaner I added beef broth so the sweet sauce stayed right consistency and didn't burn. Need about 1/4 cup once in the 30 min simmer. Added again 1/4 cup beef broth and then garlic and simmered again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is more like a 4.5 recipe. The flavor is delicious, and it's pretty simple to make. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out too thin. I will cut 1/2 to 1 cup of the water from the recipe next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States