Mom's 'Sweet 'n' Sours' Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Best ribs next to bbq style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
These came out great! We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Well i'm going to give this a try, I am making them now. will let you know how they taste later. I have my own recipe that i just love after doctoring it up to my taste and they are yummo. but these sound awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altona, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was an awesome recipe!!! I had started to cook another stove top recipe that used garlic, bay leaves, parsley, rosemary and oregano and lime juice and it didn't seem to have the taste I liked, so I boiled for the 10 min. and then drained it and added this sauce. I didn't have 2 lbs of ribs, so I added half of the sauce to the pan with ribs and cooked the rest in a separate pan to use later. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvs2cook24
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
great recipe i used boneless country ribs cut into smaller pieces and baked them in oven at 350 for an hour then i put the sauce mixture over them uncovered for 30 mins until bubbly and a little thick...i suggest NOT using water and use the drippings/juices from baking them covered instead of water adds more flavor. i had 1 1/2 cups of juices and i added 1/2 cup of water to make the 2 cups of water needed for the sauce...we HAD NO LEFT OVERS!!! huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very yummy. I will be making this again definitely. Something is a bit off about the sauce...it might be the fact that I had to use prepared mustard (I didn't have any dry), or perhaps something would be gained by adding ginger as one review said. And by off I don't mean bad at all!!! The balance just seems to be a tiny bit off, and it would take a better cook to figure that out than me! Next time I will add some ginger (didn't have any this time) and I'm super excited to try it the way one reviewer did, with cubed pork loin! Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is delicious! My husband loves it. I even forgot to add the garlic at the end this time and it is still good! Winner all the way & so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Koller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seagoville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I subbed 1 lb. cubed pork for the ribs (it was what I had), but followed the recipe as far as boiling the meat, draining, browning in oil, and simmering in the sauce (the time was a little shorter than as written). My 4 year old daughter (who doesn't often finish her dinner) raved about it served over white rice, and even had a second plate! My super picky husband said it's his favorite pork dish I've made in 7 years of marriage. This one is a definite keeper for us. I steamed some broccoli and we loved it with the sauce. It was similar to eating Chinese food, but better because it was homemade and much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Kusel, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This recipe is good but not great. I have had better before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaiian Deelit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I've been looking for a sweet and sour spare rib recipe that's close to our favorite Chinese restaurant for years and this is it! I can't believe how easy this was, with ingredients I keep on hand plus taste fantastic! By the time I talked my son into letting me use this recipe instead of his store bought terriyaki sauce, he had already seared the country ribs in a skillet. All I had to do is cut them into bite size pieces and whip up this sauce. He only let me simmer it on the stove top for about 20 minutes and it was wonderful over steamed white rice. The only change I made was cut back on the salt ( we aren't use to a lot of salt in our diet) to 1/2 t. I did add 1 small can of pineapple tidbits with juice and about 1 cup of red, orange and yellow bell pepper thinly sliced. It was so good. I also used rice vinegar. I didn't know if the apple cider vinegar would be overpowering. Next time I'll try brown sugar just for curiosity and sprinkle with sesame seeds, if my son gives me time. LOL Update: I made this again but this time I omitted the salt and just sprinkled the meat with salt, pepper and garlic powder before browning. I also cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup and it was perfect. Don't be afraid to use apple cider vinegar, it's not too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Barilla® Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States