Mom's 'Sweet 'n' Sours' Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Made this dish tonight using boneless pork ribs. It was tasty and even my 2 kids (11 and 3) loved it. My sauce didn't really thicken up for some reason. Maybe because I simmered for 20 mins. instead of 30-45? I added the juice from a can of pineapple chunks and used low sodium soy sauce. I followed the directions, but also put the ribs in a casserole dish, added the sauce, covered w/ alum. foil and slow baked in the oven for 1 hr at 350. Added the pineapple chunks with 15 mins. left to bake and they were god. I just added a little sauce on top of the ribs. I wanted to make sure the ribs we fully cooked. I'd defintely make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Fantastic. I thought it was alot of soy sauce, but it gives a great flavour. The garlic also adds a great flavour boost. My whole family loves this and get excited when they know I'm making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
The flavor was excellent with the addition of a can of pineapple. It did burn quite easily at the bottom of the pot even when it was turned down and stirred many times. I had to add more liquid because the sauce became quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Very good recipe. I added green pepper strips, pineapple chunks, a little celery, cored chopped tomato and sesame seeds for color. This is a KEEPER. Thank you HOWITZER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
sooo very good. loved it! wish i made a lot more. sauce was wonderful. i cant wait to make it again.. yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Thanks soooo much! My Dad who absolutely HATES Sweet & Sour Pork, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I added onion, bell pepper, pinapple. Easy, delicious. Rice with the sauce is good even after the ribs are gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
With a Family of 8, it is sometimes difficult to please everyone. It seems that this meal was a hit. I cooked up 4.5lb's of Pork, so I increased all the measurements to suit, served with white rice. I also fried up a large onion and celery prior to adding the pork. Tasted fantastic. Everyone had a full serving, some had two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Not exactly what I was looking for...but absolutely delicious. My husband (VERY picky eater) loves it. My father (skeptical of my cooking) doubles up. And best of all, my three boys always finish their plates when I make this dish. I left out the mustard due to personal preferences, and it turned out delectable! Five stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Quitugua

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Very good. I did the same thing as the previous reviewer - stir fried some onion, carrots, & celery adding pineapple chunks and the juice (at the beginning of cooking). Next time I'll throw in a green pepper too! Picky children weren't overly fond of it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States